2015news 08 14

LOCUST GROVE, AR (August 14, 2015) – A total of 57 cars entered the preliminary night for the 23rd Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 - Presented by Crop Production Services. Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series point leader Jonathan Davenport was the Miller Welders overall and Group A Fast Qualifier by one-thousandth of a second over Mike Marlar. Jimmy Owens was the Miller Welders Fast Qualifier in Group B.

In the first heat race, Earl Pearson, Jr. jumped to the lead at the start and dominated all 15 laps. The Carlton and Kemp Lamm-owned Dunn-Benson Ford, Lucas Oil Products Black Diamond Chassis led Jonathan Davenport and Shannon Babb across the finish line.

Former COMP Cams Topless 100 (2004) winner Dale McDowell sprinted to the top spot on the opening lap and held off Mike Marlar to score the win in heat number two. He drove the Team Dillon Racing, Bad Boy Buggies Warrior Race Cars entry to the victory over Marlar and 1998 Topless 100 winner Wendell Wallace to advance to the redraw.

Chris Brown powered to the lead at the start of heat race number three and never looked back as he took the win in the Mark Brown-owned, Lonestar Hydro and Maintenance Club 29 entry. Eddie Carrier Jr. started fifth and advanced to second, followed by Arkansas driver, Hunter Rasdon, who made his first-career Topless 100.

Two-time and defending Topless 100 winner, Jimmy Owens, powered around 2013 event winner Terry Phillips with five laps-to-go to claim heat number four. He drove the Bryan Rowland-owned Widow Wax sponsored Club 29 #20. Phillips finished second, followed by leading LOLMDS Rookie of the Year candidate Brandon Sheppard.

Jared Landers; the 2010 COMP Cams Topless 100 victor; held off a furious last-lap challenge from Scott Bloomquist to win heat number five. Landers in the Lance Landers Motorsports, Crop Productions Services-sponsored 777 beat Bloomquist to the finish line by one-car length. Trailing Landers and Bloomquist to the finish line was Billy Moyer, Jr. who earned the final transfer spot.

In the sixth heat race, Garrett Alberson raced his way into the $40,000 main event on Saturday as he drove the Raymond Childress-owned Childress Fishing and Rental Black Diamond to victory lane. Defending LOLMDS National Champion Don O’Neal finished third followed by Jesse Stovall.

The six heat race winners re-drew afterwards with Jared Landers drawing the pole. Chris Brown drew the number two spot. Jared Landers drew the 3rd starting spot, Jimmy Owens drew the fourth starting spot, Dale McDowell will start fifth, and Garrett Alberson will start sixth.

In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 57 entrants, with a lap of 13.434 seconds. Jimmy Owens set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 13.448 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Dale McDowell, Chris Brown, Jimmy Owens, Jared Landers, and Garrett Alberson won their respective heat races.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, August 14th, 2015
23rd Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 presented by Crop Production Services
Batesville Speedway – Batesville, AR

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jonathan Davenport / 13.434 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jimmy Owens / 13.448 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Shannon Babb, Steve Francis, Jon Mitchell, BJ Robinson, Travis Ashley, Charlie LaPlant, Payton Looney, Brandon Smith

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Dale McDowell, Mike Marlar, Wendell Wallace, Chris Simpson, Austin Siebert, Billy Moyer, Tony Jackson, Jr., Ray Moore, Larry Campbell, Robby Moore

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Chris Brown, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Hunter Rasdon, David Payne, Robbie Stuart, Dwight Falcon, Brad Looney, Tommy Surrett, Shannon Scott

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Terry Phillips, Brandon Sheppard, Jeremy Payne, Chandler Petty, Dennis Erb, Jr., Justin Asplin, Ryan Gustin, Austin Rettig, Shane Harris

COMP Cams Heat Race #5 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Jared Landers, Scott Bloomquist, Billy Moyer, Jr., Stacy Taylor, Allen Tippen, Robert Baker, Raymond Merrill, Jamie Elam, Timothy Culp

Crop Production Services Heat Race #5 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Garrett Alberson, Don O'Neal, Jesse Stovall, Tyler Erb, Kyle Beard, Clay Fisher, Gavin Landers, Jack Sullivan, Cole Farmer

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Line Up (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer):

Steve Francis 15 R5 Chris Simpson
David Payne 7d 5m Jon Mitchell
Austin Siebert 16A 6r Robbie Stuart
BJ Robinson 1R 21 Billy Moyer
Dwight Falcon F4 997 Travis Ashley
Tony Jackson, Jr. 56 14L Brad Looney
Charlie LaPlant 3c 93m Ray Moore
Tommy Surrett 27s 15L Payton Looney
Larry Campbell 15x 4F Shannon Scott
Brandon Smith 115 66 Robby Moore

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Line Up (15 Laps, Top 2 Transfer):

Jeremy Payne 186 27T Stacy Taylor
Tyler Erb 91 47 Chandler Petty
Allen Tippen 71A 17m Robert Baker
Kyle Beard 86 28e Dennis Erb, Jr.
Clay Fisher 99 77A Justin Asplin
Raymond Merrill 56M 77 Gavin Landers
Ryan Gustin 19R 1X Jamie Elam
Jack Sullivan 18s 94 Austin Rettig
Timothy Culp C8 26F Cole Farmer
Shane Harris 0H    

Feature Line Up (100 Laps):

Jared Landers 777 21B Chris Brown
Earl Pearson, Jr. 1 20 Jimmy Owens
Dale McDowell 17m F5 Garrett Alberson
Jonathan Davenport 6 75 Terry Phillips
Mike Marlar 157 0 Scott Bloomquist
Eddie Carrier, Jr. 28 5 Don O'Neal
Shannon Babb 18 R5x Hunter Rasdon
Brandon Sheppard B5 6m Wendell Wallace
Billy Moyer, Jr. 21jr 00 Jesse Stovall
B-MAIN 1 - 1ST 19TH 20TH B-MAIN 2 - 1ST
B-MAIN 1 - 2ND 21ST 22ND B-MAIN 2 - 2ND
Series Provisional 23RD 24TH Series Provisional

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 10/22/19 - FINAL After Portsmouth

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 8170
2 39 Tim McCreadie 7700
3 14 Josh Richards 7660
4 1t Tyler Erb ® 7590
5 20 Jimmy Owens 7540
6 1m Devin Moran ® 7305
7 71 Hudson O'Neal 7235
8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 7160
9 40b Kyle Bronson 6525
10 50 Shanon Buckingham ...