2015news 06 12

COLUMBUS, MS (June 12, 2015) – Former Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champions, Jimmy Owens and Scott Bloomquist will make-up the front row for the Clash at the Mag on Saturday Night at Magnolia Motor Speedway. The event is sponsored by the Columbus Convention and Visitors Bureau and will pay $20,000 to win.

Owens was victorious in the opening heat of the night. On a track that had been saturated with afternoon rain, Owens sprinted to the lead and held off defending Clash at the Mag winner and Lucas Oil Champion, Don O’Neal to earn the pole starting spot for tomorrow night’s main event. Dennis Erb Jr. charged from his ninth starting spot to take third. The final transfer spot went to Jimmy Cliburn, driving a Henry Cooper-owned car.

In his first visit to Magnolia [Motor Speedway], Devin Moran out-dueled sixth-place starter Eddie Carrier Jr. for the win. Moran will start third in the Clash at the Mag on Saturday night. Trailing Moran and Carrier was Bub McCool, who entered the event with six consecutive wins in the state of Mississippi. Brian Rickman grabbed the fourth and final transfer spot in the heat race.

The third heat was easily handled by Scott Bloomquist, who set a new track record in Miller Welder Time Trials earlier in the evening. Bloomquist fought off an early challenge from Brandon Sheppard to take the win. Henry Cooper and Steve Francis earned the final two transfer spots into the feature event.

The fourth heat was all Jonathan Davenport. The current LOLMDS point’s leader led all ten laps for the victory. Jared Landers finished second, followed by Wendell Wallace, and Mike Marlar.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set a new Magnolia Motor Speedway Track Record and the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 43 entrants, with a lap of 12.961 seconds. He became the first driver to at the track to clock in under 13 seconds in qualifying. Jimmy Owens set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 13.087 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Devin Moran, Scott Bloomquist, and Jonathan Davenport won their respective heat races.

There will be a Dirt Racing Outreach Service tomorrow in the General Admission Area from 4:30 – 5:15PM. An Autograph session with the drivers will begin at 5:30PM. Action on the track will begin at 7:30PM Saturday evening with B-Main Hot Laps, followed by a pair of 12-Lap B-Mains, and Hot Laps for the Heat Race Transfers. Capping off the weekend will be the 100-Lap Main Event.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday, June 12th, 2015
Clash at the Mag
Magnolia Motor Speedway – Columbus, MS

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jimmy Owens / 13.087 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 12.961 seconds ***NEW TRACK RECORD***

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Don O'Neal, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jimmy Cliburn, Jason Hiett, Dwight Falcon, Jamie Elam, David Breazeale, Dylan Ames, Scott Dedwylder, Chase Washington

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Moran, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Bub McCool, Brian Rickman, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Chad Thrash, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Simpson, Robbie Stuart, Jamie Tollison, Justin McRee

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Henry Cooper, Steve Francis, Randy Weaver, Jason Cliburn, Darren Joyner, Howard Means, Chris McElhenney, Rick Rickman, Leon Henderson-DNS

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Jared Landers, Wendell Wallace, Mike Marlar, Garrett Alberson, Chris Brown, Eric Cooley, Austin Arnold, Neil Baggett, Hunter Rasdon

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Line Up (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):

Fast Shafts "B" MAIN #1 LINE UP
Jason Hiett 1J 18H Ronny Lee Hollingsworth
Dwight Falcon 995 1C Chad Thrash
Jamie Elam 1X 1 Earl Pearson, Jr.
David Breazeale 54 R5 Chris Simpson
Dylan Ames 77A 6r Robbie Stuart
Scott Dedwylder 33 327 Jamie Tollison
Chase Washington 38 25 Justin McRee

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Line Up (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer):
Keyser Mfg. "B" MAIN #2 LINE UP
Randy Weaver 116 F5 Garrett Alberson
Jason Cliburn 888 21b Chris Brown
Darren Joyner 00 33B Eric Cooley
Howard Means 33M A8 Austin Arnold
Chris McElhenney 27M 21xxx Neil Baggett
Rick Rickman 86 R5x Hunter Rasdon
Leon Henderson 10

Feature Line Up (100 Laps):
Lucas Oil Products "A" MAIN LINE UP
Jimmy Owens 20 0 Scott Bloomquist
Devin Moran 99m 6 Jonathan Davenport
Don O'Neal 5 B5 Brandon Sheppard
Eddie Carrier, Jr. 28 777 Jared Landers
Dennis Erb, Jr. 28e 14c Henry Cooper
Bub McCool 57J 6m Wendell Wallace
Jimmy Cliburn C14 15 Steve Francis
Brian Rickman 90 157 Mike Marlar
B-Main #1 - Winner B-Main #2 - Winner
B-Main #1 - 2nd B-Main #2 - 2nd
B-Main #1 - 3rd B-Main #2 - 3rd
LOLMDS Provisional #1 LOLMDS Provisional #2

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 10/22/19 - FINAL After Portsmouth

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 8170
2 39 Tim McCreadie 7700
3 14 Josh Richards 7660
4 1t Tyler Erb ® 7590
5 20 Jimmy Owens 7540
6 1m Devin Moran ® 7305
7 71 Hudson O'Neal 7235
8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 7160
9 40b Kyle Bronson 6525
10 50 Shanon Buckingham ...