2015news 09 05

PORTSMOUTH, OH (September 5, 2015) – Scott Bloomquist dominated all 50 laps to win the Pepsi 50 River Days Rumble at Portsmouth Raceway Park on Saturday Night. The win marks his fourth straight Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory.

Jimmy Owens and 17th place-starter Jonathan Davenport completed the podium finish. Don O’Neal was fourth, followed by his Clint Bowyer teammate, Steve Francis.

“The car was just superb all night long. We are back in the points chase and I hope we don’t get any more rainouts so we can settle it on the race track! If the track is anything like this for the Dirt Track World Championship next month, then the fans will be in for quite a show.”

“I don’t really know what they’ve done differently with the race track, but it was different from when we were here in July. We could all run anywhere on it. Our car handled so well tonight. We replaced the rack last night and we just tried to stay out front for the whole race. I didn’t abuse the tires too much. It was just a perfect night, and it’s hard to do that anymore with the type of competition there is in this series.”

“I want to thank Mark Martin, Lance Landers, Mike Reece, Randy Sweet, everybody at Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Lucas Oil, Base Fuels, Hoosier Tires, Penske Shocks, Sorbera Chiropractic, and Horton Coal,” remarked the victor.

Bloomquist took the lead at the start of the 50 lap event. He was never seriously challenged, even after several caution flags. The win was the 60th for Bloomquist in LOLMDS competition, which ranks him first all-time in wins.

Owens survived a spectacular battle for second among several drivers throughout the race. “We were all mixing it up. The fans had to enjoy that race for second. None of us had anything for Scott [Bloomquist]. Congrats to him and his team on the win. I want to thank Bryan Rowland for giving me this opportunity. Everybody on the Widow Wax team is working hard and we keep getting close to taking this car to victory lane.”

Davenport had to run his first B-main of the season and started 17th. He salvaged what could have been a disastrous night in points. “To come out of here finishing third with the way the night started, we will take it. The car was really good, but to start 17th against these guys is really tough. We learned a lot tonight, so when we come back here next month we will have some good notes. I want to thank Kevin and Lee Roy Rumley. We will just come back tomorrow and give it a good run.”

Completing the top ten were Eddie Carrier Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Casebolt, Jackie Boggs, and Brandon Sheppard.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 31 entrants, with a lap of 14.267 seconds. Jared Landers set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.393 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., and Devin Moran won their respective heat races. Jonathan Davenport won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, September 5th, 2015
Pepsi River Days Rumble 50
Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, OH

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Scott Bloomquist / 14.267 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Jared Landers / 14.393 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Jackie Boggs, Steve Francis, Chris Brown, Jonathan Davenport, Rod Conley, Doug Drown, Larry Martin, Jr.

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Dennis Erb, Jr., Don O'Neal, RJ Conley, Brandon Sheppard, Earl Pearson, Jr., Billy Gullion, Kenneth Howell, Craig Vosbergen-DNS

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jared Landers, Steve Lucas, Steve Casebolt, Kenny Christy, Kevin Wagner, Austin Mills, Russ Frohnapfel-DNS

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Moran, Jimmy Owens, Shannon Thornsberry, Delmas Conley, Kirk Phillips, Avery Taylor, Audie Swartz

Fast Shafts B-Main Finish (12 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Kenny Christy, Doug Drown, Rod Conley, Earl Pearson, Jr., Kevin Wagner, Audie Swartz, Avery Taylor, Larry Martin, Jr., Austin Mills, Billy Gullion, Kirk Phillips, Kenneth Howell-DNS, Craig Vosbergen-DNS, Russ Frohnapfel-DNS

Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 1 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
2 8 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
3 17 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
4 7 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
5 9 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
6 2 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
7 21 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
8 14 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN
9 5 4b Jackie Boggs Grayson, KY
10 15 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
11 20 71R Rod Conley Wheelersburg, OH
12 13 21B Chris Brown Spring, TX
13 10 5L Steve Lucas Charleston, WV
14 22 33 Kevin Wagner Wheelersburg, OH
15 6 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
16 12 17T Shannon Thornsberry Martin, KY
17 3 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
18 4 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
19 24 11 Billy Gullion Waverly, OH
20 11 71c RJ Conley Wheelersburg, OH
21 19 240 Doug Drown Wooster, OH
22 23 10 Audie Swartz Minford, OH
23 18 c7 Kenny Christy Vanceburg, KY
24 16 71d Delmas Conley Wheelersburg, OH

Race Statistics
Entrants: 31
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 – 50)
Cautions: Delmas Conley (Lap 3); Kenny Christy (Lap 3); Audie Swartz (Lap 5); Jared Landers (Lap 12); Chris Brown (Lap 13); Devin Moran (Lap 31); Shannon Thornsberry (Lap 32); Jared Landers (Lap 777)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Audie Swartz, Billy Gullion
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jonathan Davenport (Started: 17th; Finished: 3rd; Advanced 14 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jonathan Davenport
Allstar Performer of the Race: Earl Pearson Jr.
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jimmy Owens
Rookie of the Race: Brandon Sheppard
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Kevin Rumley (Jonathan Davenport)
CV Products Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #5 – 15.3303 seconds)
Hot Rod Processing Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (50 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Dennis Erb Jr.
Time of Race: 43 minutes 36 seconds

Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:

1 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC 5665
2 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN 5545
3 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN 5410
4 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL 5260
5 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN 5180
6 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL 4950
7 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL 4935
8 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV 4835
9 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY 4810
10 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR 4755
11 21B Chris Brown Spring, TX 4385

*Points are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 10/14/19 - After Dixie

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 8045
2 39 Tim McCreadie 7575
3 14 Josh Richards 7450
4 20 Jimmy Owens 7380
5 1T Tyler Erb ® 7370
6 1m Devin Moran ® 7130
7 71 Hudson O'Neal 7050
8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 7020
9 40B Kyle Bronson 6345
9 50 Shanon Buckingham 6345
11 ...