WAYCROSS, GA (June 19, 2012) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is about to reach the half-way mark of the 2012 season and the competition is heating up in several of the special points categories. While Don O’Neal leads the series in most wins; with eight (8) in 2012; defending LOLMDS National Champion, Jimmy Owens continues to lead the series overall points standings. Don O’Neal is currently second followed by Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, and Earl Pearson Jr. in the Lucas Oil Championship Points Standings.Jonathan Davenport and Austin Hubbard are in the middle of a tight points battle in their quest for the 2012 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year. Davenport leads the Rookie of the Year points, and both drivers have been knocking on the door of their first 2012 series wins. The battle for the Rookie of the Year looks to go down to the final event between these two rising stars.In the battle for the inaugural DirtonDirt.com Crown Jewel Cup, Jimmy Owens also leads these points standings. The ten (10) race “mini-series” within the series schedule awards points to drivers that compete at those “Crown Jewel” events. Earl Pearson Jr is currently second in this points category followed by Scott Bloomquist. Owens also leads the E3 Spark Plugs TV Challenge as well after two TV events in 2012. In the Sunoco Race for Gas competition, Jimmy Owens, also leads this point’s category and has shown great consistency this year. Not only has Owens posted two wins in 2012, but he has eight runner-up finishes as well.In the battle for the ASI Racewear Challenge, Don O’Neal currently leads this point’s category. O’Neal has posted the most heat race wins to date in 2012 and leads the Wiles Drive Shafts Heat Race Points. In the battle for the most Red Buck Fast Time Awards in 2012, O’Neal currently leads this category as well.Scott Bloomquist currently leads the battle for the Allstar Performer of the Year points category sponsored by Allstar Performance. Allstar Performer of the Year is based on drivers that have the best overall performance throughout the entire event. John Blankenship has a commanding lead in the Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Year Award point’s category over Jimmy Owens and Earl Pearson Jr.In the battle for the COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Year, Jay Dickens Race Engines and Cornett Race Engines are tied atop the points category. Roush Yates Performance Engines is a very close third in the standings for this prestigious award that goes to the top engine builder of the year.Bloomquist Race Cars currently leads the Öhlin’s Shocks Chassis Builder of the Year points category, followed by MasterSbilt Chassis. Each chassis builder earns Öhlin’s Shocks points based on each manufacturer’s highest finishing car at each event.In the quest for the Sweet Manufacturing Crew Chief of the Year on the series in 2012, it’s divided into two categories. Randy Sweet has stepped up to offer the crew chiefs some big cash bonuses at the series year end awards banquet while posting a $100 cash award to the top crew chief at each event. A special $2,500 cash award will go to the crew chief of the driver that wins the most series events in 2012. Cody Manhoney, crew chief of Don O’Neal, currently leads this category with eight wins on the season. Sweet will also pay another $2,500 cash award to the crew chief of the driver that wins the series points championship. Chris Fox, crew chief of Jimmy Owens, currently leads the series championship points standings.Not only are the drivers competing for cash and product awards at each event and at the year-end awards banquet, but fans attending the LOLMDS events in 2012 will have numerous chances to win lots of neat prizes from the “Get Your MAVTV On” promotion. Race fans that attend LOLMDS events can win prizes by registering at the MAVTV booth. In addition, by registering with the MAVTV Girls at events, fans become eligible for the monthly prize pack and the MAVTV Grand Prize Package. Fans that register at events get to spin the prize wheel for a chance to win various prizes at the track. On or about the first of every month in 2012, one (1) potential winner will be randomly selected from the eligible entries for the monthly prize pack giveaway. The grand prize winner will be selected on or about December 15, 2012. The grand prize winner will receive a 55" HD LCD Television and a one (1) year subscription to DISH Network America's Top 250 and Outdoor package valued at $1,600. No purchase or payment is necessary to win any prizes associated with the “Get Your MAVTV On” promotion.Up next for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be a pair of $10,000 to win single day events in the southeast this weekend. The series will travel to Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, SC on Friday June 22nd and then travel to Wythe Raceway in Rural Treat, VA on Saturday June 23rd.For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series website at www.lucasdirt.com.   Follow the series on social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 07/23/19 - After I-80 Speedway

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 5640
2 14 Josh Richards 5110
3 1T Tyler Erb ® 5025
4 39 Tim McCreadie 4975
5 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 4960
6 20 Jimmy Owens 4940
7 1M Devin Moran ® 4885
8 71 Hudson O'Neal 4675
9 40B Kyle Bronson 4240
10 50 Shanon Buckingham 4235