WAYCROSS, GA (April 27, 2012) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will have a rare weekend off this week, but the series will be back in action next weekend. The series will be kicking off the Month of May at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, IL and Paducah International Raceway in Paducah, KY.   On Friday Night, May 4th, the LOLMDS visits the Kevin and Tammy Gundaker-promoted Tri-City Speedway, which is just across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, MO. The series will be making its eighth appearance at the immaculate 3/8ths mile facility. On Saturday Night, May 5th the series will head to the Bob Sargent-promoted Paducah International Raceway. Mother Nature has decided the outcome for the last two years after the series inaugural race in 2009. Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA won that event. Both events will be complete one day shows with Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and a $10,000 to win main event. Fans will get a chance to get up close and meet the drivers at each event, during the drivers autograph sessions. At Tri-City, the autograph session will take place from 5:15pm – 5:45pm (CDT); and at PIR from 4:00pm – 5:00pm (CDT).   Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN will lead the stars of the series into Tri-City and Paducah holding the series points lead. Despite not winning a main event so far in 2012, Owens has recorded five (5) runner-up finishes in seven series point’s events in 2012 thus far. His consistent finishes have enabled him to stay atop the points chase.   After Owens positions two through eight in the series championship points standings are separated by only 90-points. Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN and 4-time champ, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL are tied for second followed by red-hot, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA.   Steve Francis of Ashland, KY is sixth in points followed by Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL; Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV. Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY are just outside of the top ten. Twelve drivers have maintained perfect attendance up to this point in the season.   So far in 2012 there have been six different winners in the first 11 races. O’Neal is leading the way with four appearances in Lucas Oil Victory Lane this year. Bloomquist, who has won the last two LOLMDS events in Virginia and Pennsylvania, is joined by Francis as a multiple winner this year. Erb, Landers, and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC have also won on the series tour this year. Also, in the first 11 events, the average starting spot by the race winner is fifth. Only twice this year on the ultra-competitive tour has the race winner started on the front row.   For more information on the LOLMDS events on May 4th at Tri-City and May 5th at Paducah you can log onto each track’s respective websites at www.tricityspeedway.net and www.paducahracing.com.   For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at www.lucasdirt.com. Follow us as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.   Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings   1.    Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 1545 2.    Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 1370 3.    Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) -1370 4.    Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 1340 5.    Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) – 1335 6.    Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 1325 7.    Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL) – 1300 8.    Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) – 1280 9.    Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 1245 10. John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) – 1180 11. Austin Hubbard (Seaford, DE) – 1125 12. Eric Wells (Hazard, KY) – 1120 About Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series: Founded in 2005, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the nations' premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. It currently sanctions 46 events in 19 states in 2012 and receives national exposure through taped-delayed series events that are shown on CBS, CBS Sports, SPEED, NBC Sports and MAVTV.   About Lucas Oil Products: Founded in 1989 by Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Lucas Oil Products, Inc. has established itself as one of the fastest-growing lubrication product lines in the consumer automotive aftermarket, featuring a line of engine oils, greases, gear lubes, problem-solving additives, and car-care products. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil has established itself as a worldwide leader in the lubrication industry. Motorsports has always been part of the Lucas Oil culture and the cornerstone of the company's marketing strategy. Such passion for motorsports has inspired Lucas Oil to sponsor many race teams, events and series at all levels, including, NHRA, IRL, ASCS, NASCAR, IHRA and many more. Lucas Oil has also taken ownership and operational control of a number of high profile racing properties, such as: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, Lucas Oil Drag Boat Series, Lucas Oil Pro Pulling League, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Lucas Oil Modified Series, Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. and the Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway in Blythe, CA.   In 2007 Lucas Oil founded its own production house, Lucas Oil Production Studios, dedicated to producing high action motorsports television. Currently Lucas Oil Production Studios produces over 300 hours of original programming for networks such as CBS, NBC Sports, SPEED, and MAVTV. More information on Lucas Oil Products, Inc. can be found by visiting www.LucasOil.com.  

2021 Championship Points

Points as of 2/2/2021
Pos Competitor Points
1stBrandon Overton (#76)1155
2ndHudson O'Neal (#71)1090
3rdDevin Moran (#9)1065
4thTim McCreadie (#39)1050
5thBrandon Sheppard (#1s)1045
6thKyle Bronson (#40B)1015
7thRicky Thornton (#20RT)1005
8thMike Marlar (#157)1000
9thJosh Richards (#14)990
10thBrian Shirley (#3s)985

Live Timing