WAYCROSS, GA (April 10, 2012) – The 3rd Annual Commonwealth 100 sanctioned for the first time by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will take place this Friday, April 13th and Saturday, April 14th at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway in Jamaica, VA. The first crown jewel event for dirt late models in 2012 will pay a whopping $25,000 to the winner and $2,000 to start with a total purse of over $106,000. In addition there will be a special non-qualifiers race that pays $3,000 to win and $300 to start. Steve Shaver is the defending race winner and will be one of the many national and regional stars that will be battling for the win against the stars of the LOLMDS this weekend.   With a beautiful weather forecast for the Virginia area this weekend fans are encouraged to purchase tickets in advance for this mega event. A special two-day advance ticket is just $30, Senior/Military tickets are $27 apiece and students (7-17) just $15. All tickets are general admission. No reserved tickets will be sold for this event. Fans have until the end of business day, Friday, April 13th to purchase these advanced two-day tickets at this special price. To purchase tickets you can call the speedway office at (804) 758-1867 from 9 am to 4 pm Monday-Friday and use MasterCard, Visa or Discover Card.   Not only is this event shaping up to be one of the biggest events of the year to attend, but Lucas Oil Production Studios will also be on hand to tape the event. The Commonwealth 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway this weekend will be the first televised event for the LOLMDS in 2012. The event will air on three networks in 2012 including SPEED, NBC Sports Network, and MAVTV. To see the entire 2012 LOLMDS TV Schedule and airdates, visit the series website at www.lucasdirt.com.   This mega event is also the first event of the new DirtonDirt Crown Jewel Cup created in 2012 in association with the LOLMDS. The DirtonDirt Crown Jewel Cup is a mini series of Crown Jewel events on the LOLMDS schedule in 2012. The driver that earns the most points among these 10 special Crown Jewel events will receive a special cash award and trophy at the series year-end awards banquet compliments of DirtonDirt.com.   Activities will get underway this Friday with Red Buck Cigar Time Trials followed by Heat Races for the LOLMDS. On Saturday the LOLMDS B-mains, a $3,000 to win Non-Qualifier’s Race, and the $25,000 to win Commonwealth 100 main event will take place. Pit gates will open at 3pm on for Friday and Saturday with spectator gates opening at 5pm on Friday and 4pm on Saturday. There will be a BB&T “Meet and Greet” special autograph session with the LOLMDS drivers from 4:15 – 5:15pm on Saturday April 14th. On track activities will begin both days about 6:00pm with hot laps.   Race fans will also have the pleasure to witness a special celebrity slot car race among several of the LOLMDS drivers and staff over the weekend. Tim Hottle and his Outback Motor Speedway Slot Car Track will be on display the entire weekend at VMS as fans get to see these 1/24 scale dirt late models soar around this unique track. The Outback Motor Speedway recently held the 1st Annual LOLMDS Slot Car World Championship this past March. Fans can visit the official website and view pictures and videos from the recent event at www.outbackmotorspeedway.com.   Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN will lead the contingent of series regulars plus several of the top drivers from all over the region and nation. Owens currently leads the series championship point’s standings and is looking for his first series win of 2012. Steve Francis of Ashland, KY is currently second in the LOLMDS Championship standings followed closely by Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA and Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL. The rest of the top ten in points expected to be on hand for the Commonwealth 100 include 16-year-old phenom, Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA, 4-time series champ, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; 2-time series champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.   Former Virginia Motor Speedway Late Model Track Champion, Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE, who is in his first full-year of running with the LOLMDS, will also be participating along with Hazard KY’s Eric Wells, another young-gun on the series tour.   So far this season there have been five different winners in the first nine events for the LOLMDS. O’Neal leads the way with four victories followed by Francis with two wins. Erb, Landers and Cook have also entered Lucas Oil Victory Lane on one occasion in 2012.   For more information on this spectacular event logon to www.vamotorspeedway.com.  For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at www.lucasdirt.com. Be sure and visit the series on social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt. About Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series: Founded in 2005, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the nations' premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. It currently sanctions 46 events in 19 states in 2012 and receives national exposure through taped-delayed series events that are shown on CBS, CBS Sports, SPEED, NBC Sports and MAVTV.   About Lucas Oil Products: Founded in 1989 by Forrest and Charlotte Lucas, Lucas Oil Products, Inc. has established itself as one of the fastest-growing lubrication product lines in the consumer automotive aftermarket, featuring a line of engine oils, greases, gear lubes and problem-solving additives. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the number one selling fuel treatment and additive products manufacturer in America and Canada. Lucas Oil Products has long been directly involved in the American racing industry at all levels through multiple vehicle sponsorships and racing events. About Lucas Oil Production Studios: Owned by Lucas Oil Products, Inc., Lucas Oil Production Studios produces and edits over 300 hours of original, high quality HD television programming yearly. Located in Corona, CA, the studio employs a full-time staff of professional directors, producers, HD video editors, videographers, engineers and graphic artists. The studio creates original, state-of-the-art, HD television action sports and other unique programming for broadcast on 5 major national networks. For more information please visit www.LucasOil.com.     

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship

Points as of 2/9/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1st Brandon Sheppard (1s) 1190
2nd Tim McCreadie (39) 1150
3rd Devin Moran (9) 1115
4th Jonathan Davenport (49) 1075
5th Tyler Erb (1T) 1050
6th Mike Marlar (157) 1025
7th Kyle Bronson (40B) 980
8th Jimmy Owens (20) 975
9th Billy Moyer (21) 965
10th Brian Shirley (3s) 960

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

* Required