WAYCROSS, GA (October 13, 2012) – Capping off another exciting year of racing, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heads to the 2012 season finale - the Red Buck Dirt Track World Championship - presented by “Borrowed Blue”. Jimmy Owens, of Newport, TN will secure his second LOLMDS National Championship in a row, once he rolls through the gates and enters the final event at Portsmouth Raceway Park next weekend. Owens, who has won six (6) LOLMDS feature events in 2012, has been consistently racking up valuable points all season long to stay in front of the series points battle. Owens is leading Don O’Neal into the final event by 430 points. O’Neal leads the series with eleven (11) wins in 2012 but has suffered several DNF’s, costing him valuable points towards the series national championship.   Jonathan Davenport will wrap up the 2012 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Title next week at Portsmouth Raceway Park. Davenport, who drives the #15 Georgia Boot - Clint Boyer owned race car, has not posted a win on the series yet in 2012, but has been a constant contender at every event to earn enough points to win the Quarter Master Rookie of the Year title in 2012. Davenport currently sits in fifth place in the series national points standings heading into the season finale next week.   There are several important points categories still to be determined as the series heads to the Red Buck DTWC - presented by “Borrowed Blue”. The inaugural DirtonDirt.com Crown Jewel Cup points standings is a close battle among the top four drivers in the series. Don O’Neal leads this points category by a mere twenty-five (25) points over Steve Francis, followed by Owens and Bloomquist, with both drivers within striking distance of passing O’Neal. This points category is based on the ten (10) crown jewel events within the series schedule in 2012. The Red Buck Dirt Track World Championship - presented by “Borrowed Blue” will be the final event of the DirtonDirt.com Crown Jewel Cup and determine the champion of this mini-series within the LOLMDS.   Jimmy Owens leads the E3 Spark Plugs TV points category heading into the season finale. Owens has earned the most points at the nine (9) TV races on the series schedule, with the DTWC being the final TV race of the 2012 season. Owens also leads the Sunoco Race for Gas points category over Earl Pearson Jr.   The Red Buck Fast Time Award for the season is a close battle between Steve Francis, who leads the series with five (5) fast time awards over Bloomquist, O’Neal and Owens, who all have four (4) fast time awards in 2012. Red Buck Time trials will be extra important to these four drivers, at the finale event next week, which will determine the Red Buck Fastest Qualifier of the Year at the series year-end awards banquet.   Numerous other important points categories will be determined at the series season finale, the Red Buck DTWC - presented by “Borrowed Blue”. The year-long battle for the COMP Cams Engine Builder of the year comes down to Cornett Racing Engines and Roush Yates Engines. The COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Year is a much coveted award in the dirt late model industry and for the LOLMDS.   Other special points categories to be determined at the season finale include: the Allstar Performer of the Year Award, The Ohlin’s Shocks Chassis Manufacturer of the Year, Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Year, the Sweet Manufacturer Crew Chiefs of the Year, The Wiles Drive Shafts Heat Race Points of the Year and the ASI Points Challenge of the Year.   To see the entire list of contingency awards available to racers that compete with the series, log onto the series website www.lucasdirt.com and click on the rules link and then the contingency awards link. “We’re very honored to have so many companies support the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and provide so many contingency awards and special awards for racers to earn throughout the year. The strength of the series and success is greatly attributed to the many companies that support the series. These programs help maintain the series as the premier national super dirt late model touring series in the country”, stated Ritchie Lewis, Director-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.   Up next for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be the Red Buck Dirt Track World Championship featuring “Borrowed Blue” at Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, Ohio on October 19th and 20th. This mega event, sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, will be the final event of the 2012 season.   To keep up with all the latest news and to learn more about the Red Buck Dirt Track World Championship featuring “Borrowed Blue”, visit the event website atwww.dirttrackworldchampionship.net or visit the track website at www.portsraceway.com.   For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series log onto:www.lucasdirt.com. To keep up with all the action “Live” as it happens, click on Roush Yates Performance Parts live timing and scoring page atwww.lucasdirt.com/live. Be sure to visit the series on our social media outlets as well at: http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 07/15/19 - After Lucas Oil Speedway

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 4975
2 1T Tyler Erb ® 4550
3 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 4545
4 14 Josh Richards 4520
5 20 Jimmy Owens 4440
6 39 Tim McCreadie 4385
7 1M Devin Moran ® 4280
8 71 Hudson O'Neal 4180
9 40B Kyle Bronson 3770
10 50 Shanon Buckingham ...