WAYCROSS, GA (March 28, 2012) – The nation’s premier dirt late model sanctioning body, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series heads to Mississippi and Texas this upcoming weekend. Joining the stars and cars of the LOLMDS will be the top regional and local racers in the South.

On Friday Night, March 30th, the LOLMDS will make its first ever appearance at the Don Cliburn-promoted Jackson Motor Speedway in Byram, MS for the “Southern 50”. This event is one of the biggest in several years at Jackson Motor Speedway and will mark the 60th different track that the series has visited.

Then on Saturday Night, March 31st, the series heads for the second year in a row to the Sam Hafertepe Jr.-promoted LoneStar Speedway in Kilgore, TX for the running of the “High Banks Havoc”. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN won last year’s inaugural visit to LoneStar in front of a capacity crowd.

There will be a complete show both nights for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series with Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and a $10,000 to win/$800 to start main event. Fans will get to see the stars of the LOLMDS up close with a special driver autograph session scheduled at both events this weekend.

Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL takes a slim five point-lead into the events this weekend. Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; the reigning LOLMDS National Champion; is second in points followed by Steve Francis of Ashland, KY; Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; and Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN. O’Neal is hot off a win in the “Indiana Icebreaker” at Brownstown (IN) Speedway this past weekend.

Other series regulars expected to be on hand will be Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE; 2 –time series champion Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.

For more information on what promises to be an exciting weekend of Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series racing action, logon to each track’s respective website at www.jacksonmotorspeedway.net and www.lonestarspeedway.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at www.lucasdirt.com   Be sure and visit the series on social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 7/25/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1stJimmy Owens (#20)5250
2ndJonathan Davenport (#49)4950
3rdJosh Richards (#14)4810
4thTyler Erb (#1T)4785
5thTim McCreadie (#39)4730
6thKyle Bronson (#40B)4590
7thDevin Moran (#9)4550
8thShane Clanton (#25)4510
9thBilly Moyer (#21)4335
10thTanner English (#81E)4240

Live Timing