WAYCROSS, GA (March 14, 2012) – Anticipation is running high for the $25,000-to-win Third Annual Commonwealth 100 scheduled for April 13th and 14th at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway in Jamaica, VA. This year’s event will have a new twist, as the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will now sanction the $25,000 to win two-day event. The weekend will also include a $3000 to win non-qualifiers race to give more racers a chance to make some money that weekend. Not only is this event shaping up to be one of the biggest events of the year to attend, but Lucas Oil Studios will also be on hand to tape the event. The Commonwealth 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway on April 13-14th will be the first televised event in 2012 for the LOLMDS. The event will air on both SPEED and NBC Sports Network in 2012. The SPEED Channel will air the event on May 13th at 6PM EST while NBC Sports Network will air the event on June 10 at 6PM EST. Race fans can expect to see the best in national and regional dirt late model drivers for this highly anticipated event. Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson Jr., Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Ray Cook, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Tyler Reddick, Eric Wells, Terry Casey, Austin Hubbard, and Jonathan Davenport are just a few of the series regulars expected to compete. Joining those national stars will be defending race winner Steve Shaver, Booper Bare, Ricky Elliott, Jason Covert, Jamie Lathroum, and a host of other regional hot shoes competing for the top prize. “When you look at the car counts and the exciting racing that was put on during Florida Speedweeks it only gets you amped and excited to have the best dirt late model drivers in the country headed to Virginia for what we feel is going to be the best Commonwealth 100 yet,” commented track General Manager Clarke Sawyer. Fans have until April 1st to grab one of the best deals in dirt Late Model racing — a two-day advance adult ticket for just $30; Senior / Military are $27 and students (7-17) just $15. All tickets are general admission. No reserved seats will be sold for the event. Fans can purchase tickets by visiting www.vamotorspeedway.com, downloading the advance ticket order form and sending it to the track with a money order or cashier’s check (no personal checks), or by calling the speedway office at 804-758-1867 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and using a Mastercard, Visa, or Discover card. Drivers, meanwhile, can also save by entering the Commonwealth 100 prior to the early-entry deadline of April 1. The $150 early-entry fee not only saves racers $50 off the regular $200 entry fee but also includes a two-day driver pit pass worth $50. The Commonwealth 100 weekend kicks off on Friday, April 13th, with time trials, heat races, while B-Mains, the 30-lap Non-Qualifiers’ Race, and the 100-lap feature event take center stage on Saturday, April 14th. A rain-date of Sunday, April 15th, has been established for the event. “The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is excited and pumped up about sanctioning the “Commonwealth 100” this year. Not only is the Virginia Motor Speedway one of the finest facilities in the country, this event is really shaping up to be a huge event for both fans and racers. Were also very happy to be bringing the Lucas Oil Studios trucks to the event to tape it for broadcast on both SPEED and NBC Sports Network. The entire staff and Sawyer family are really great people to work with and track owners and promoters all over the country should copy what they do at Virginia Motor Speedway. The two day advanced ticket prices are really a great bargain for the caliber of show the fans will get to see”, stated Ritchie Lewis, series director. To learn more about the “Commonwealth 100” and Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway fans may call the Speedway office at (804) 758-1VMS or visit the track’s web site at www.vamotorspeedway.com. For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at www.lucasdirt.com. Be sure and visit the series on social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.  

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship

Points as of 2/9/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1st Brandon Sheppard (1s) 1190
2nd Tim McCreadie (39) 1150
3rd Devin Moran (9) 1115
4th Jonathan Davenport (49) 1075
5th Tyler Erb (1T) 1050
6th Mike Marlar (157) 1025
7th Kyle Bronson (40B) 980
8th Jimmy Owens (20) 975
9th Billy Moyer (21) 965
10th Brian Shirley (3s) 960

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

* Required