WAYCROSS, GA (February 17th, 2012) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship race begins today, Friday February 17th at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL. Friday’s event will include a 50-lap feature, paying $10,000 to the winner. There will be a 60-lap feature, paying $10,000 to win on Saturday night February 18th. The first four nights of the 36th Annual DART Winternationals have been non-points events for the nation’s premier dirt late model touring series. Coming off of a season where the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series stars won the majority of the “crown-jewel” events in all of dirt late model racing, the series contenders hope to get off to a great start in this year’s chase for the nation’s premier title. The first four nights have been packed with exciting racing action, on the famed “Clay by the Bay”. The drivers have been fine-tuning their machines during the first four nights of the 36th DART Winternationals. All of the teams and drivers are preparing for the battle to continue as the nation’s toughest championship chase gets underway tonight. Series stars Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY have visited victory lane in other non-sanctioned events. All three drivers have also entered victory lane this week during the “non-points” nights of the DART Winternationals. O’Neal visited victory lane during the January events in Arizona. He has already picked up two wins, on Monday and Tuesday night, at the DART Winternationals earlier this week. He says East Bay is one of his favorite tracks. “We have always run well here over the years,” said the veteran driver who pilots the MasterSbilt House Car based out of Crothersville, IN.  “It has been great so far this week and we need to get off to a running start in the points nights down here and keep our momentum going,” said O’Neal, who finished third in last year’s series points’ chase.  Ray Cook has gotten off to a good start this year by winning the “Ice Bowl” event in Alabama back in January. He also won Wednesday night’s non-points event during the DART Winternationals. Cook is again piloting the D&R Racing, MasterSbilt Chassis, #53. Cook’s win earlier this week was the second win in his career at East Bay. Francis is coming off a couple of wins in Australia and is behind the wheel of the Barry Wright house-car in 2012. Francis has eight career wins at East Bay coming into 2012, and has already notched another win on Thursday night, February 16th. He is poised to improve on his 2011 fourth-place finish in the championship chase. “We want to get off to a better start than last year. I have a lot of confidence racing here, with one win already this week. So far the races this week have been amazing. With this Barry Wright and Clements Engines program, we think we are headed in the right direction for 2012.” In 2011, there were six different winners in the six races contested at East Bay Raceway Park with three drivers scoring their first ever dirt late model wins at East Bay. First time winners included Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY; Tyler Reddick of Corning, CA; and Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN. Last year Reddick became the youngest driver not only to win a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at age 15, but also the youngest to ever win at East Bay. Reddick went on to finish second in the Quarter Master Rookie of the Year standings and finished tenth in the overall championship point standings. Jimmy Owens made his 2012 debut on Thursday night at East Bay Raceway Park. Owens is coming off of his national championship title win from 2011 along with his first visit to victory lane in a super late model during the 35th DART Winternationals. Owens finished every points paying race on the LOLMDS tour last year and enters this season focused on winning more races while hunting another championship. “Last year our goal was to be consistent and finish good every night and not fall out of any races. We accomplished that, and this year we would like to win more races and see how the points play out. Our East Bay program got a whole lot better last year and we feel this year we will be even better”, stated Owens. Another contender and two time series champion, Scott Bloomquist, said his East Bay program has been a focal point of the team for a while now. “We used to come here and experiment with stuff. But the last few years, we’ve taken it more seriously, and it’s paid off. With two full points’ races this year, it’s imperative to get off to a good start.” In 2011, Bloomquist won a series-record 15 events and finished second in the championship points’ race. Pearson, the four time LOLMDS champion, is again driving the Bobby Labonte Motorsports, Longhorn Chassis in 2012. He has two career wins at East Bay and is staged to get back into victory lane. Other Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series drivers will search for their first ever wins at East Bay Raceway Park, including 2011 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year, Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has put up a weeklong DART Winternationals Points Fund, which will pay $5,000 to the driver that competes all six nights and earns the most points. The top ten drivers in the weeklong DART Winternationals point standings will receive awards for their efforts on Saturday night after the final event of the 36th Annual DART Winternationals. For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit the series’ website at www.lucasdirt.com. Be sure and visit the series on the social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 10/22/19 - FINAL After Portsmouth

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 8170
2 39 Tim McCreadie 7700
3 14 Josh Richards 7660
4 1t Tyler Erb ® 7590
5 20 Jimmy Owens 7540
6 1m Devin Moran ® 7305
7 71 Hudson O'Neal 7235
8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 7160
9 40b Kyle Bronson 6525
10 50 Shanon Buckingham ...