WAYCROSS, GA (August 7, 2012) – The Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100, Presented by Lucas Oil will take place this Thursday, Friday and Saturday at Florence Speedway in Union, KY. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned Crown Jewel event will pay $50,000 to win and $2,500 to start. This event, which began in 1983, is also a part of the DirtonDirt.com Crown Jewel Cup point standings within the LOLMDS. Activity will get underway on Thursday night, August 9th with an open practice session. On Friday night, August 10th, activities will include Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, followed by a Red Buck Cigars Fast Dash for the top 3 qualifiers in group A and B (from time trials.) There will also be a post-race fan and racer appreciation party, sponsored by Red Buck Cigars. A live concert will be performed by Nashville recording group “Borrowed Blue”. “Borrowed Blue” is an up and coming band that is sure to kick off a great party at Florence Speedway. There is no additional charge to attend the post-race party and event tickets will remain the normal price for the weekend. The mega event continues on Saturday night, August 11th with the LOLMDS Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 100-Lap Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100, presented by Lucas Oil. Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN, the reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion and current championship points leader, heads a strong field of the nation’s best dirt late model drivers into Florence this weekend. Owens has won the last two Sunoco North/South 100’s and is working hard to become the first driver in the history of the event to win three in a row. Only Hall of Famer and former Florence Speedway regular, Pat Patrick of Saylor Park, OH has won the event two years in a row, until Owens matched that a year ago. Owens, who also captured the race in 2007, can also become the first driver to win the biggest race at Florence Speedway four times. Only the late Hall of Famer Jack Boggs of Grayson, KY has won the North/South 100 three times.Owens and the rest of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regulars, including 2012 Ralph Latham Memorial Winner, Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, will be gunning for his first career Sunoco North/South 100 win. O’Neal leads the series with 10 wins this season as he was victorious in the last LOLMDS event at Hagerstown, MD on July28th.Owens and O’Neal currently sit first and second in the championship points standings with 2-time series champ, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN in third. Bloomquist is a 2-time Sunoco North/South 100 winner with those triumphs coming in 1988 and 2000. Home-state driver and LOLMDS competitor, Steve Francis of Ashland, KY, who currently stands fourth in the series points, will be looking for his first-ever Sunoco North/South 100 trip to victory lane. Francis will try to become only the second driver other than Jack Boggs from the Bluegrass State to win the highest paying dirt race in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The many stars of the LOLMDS are excited to rejoin the tour this coming weekend and will be looking to take home the $50,000 first place prize including; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; Tyler Reddick of Coring, CA; Eric Wells of hazard, KY; and Jared Landers of Batesville, AR.Robby Hensley of Walton, KY currently leads the Florence Speedway weekly Late Model points standings, as the second-generation racer is looking for his first career track championship. The defending Florence Speedway track champion, Josh Williams of West Harrison, IN is second in the track points, followed by David Spille of Harrison, OH; James Rice of Verona, KY and Jesse James Lay of Verona, KY.The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series would like to thank the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport for being the "Official Hotel of the Sunoco North/South 100" and hosting the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the event. There are still rooms available at the very special Sunoco North/South rate! Please call Molly Fruin at the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport for more information and reservations. Her direct phone number is 859-746-5612. The hotel has rates so low, that we can't even publish them here! These rooms are filling up quickly, so call Molly today and ask for the North/South rate for your stay. The Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport is only a short drive from Florence Speedway, and is located at:Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport1717Airport Exchange Blvd.Erlanger, KY 41018For more information on the Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil you can contact the track office at (859) 485-7591 or visit the Florence Speedway website at www.florencespeedway.com. For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series log onto: www.lucasdirt.com. To keep up with all the action “Live” as it happens, click on www.lucasdirt.com/live. Be sure to visit the series on our social media outlets as well at: http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirtPrevious Sunoco North/South 100 Winners1983– Pat Patrick1984– Pat Patrick1985– John Mason1986– Jack Boggs1987– Jeff Purvis1988– Scott Bloomquist1989– Jeff Purvis1990– Mike Head1991– Rodney Combs1992– Jack Boggs1993– John Gill1994– Jack Boggs1995– John Gill1996– Donnie Moran1997– Rick Aukland1998– Donnie Moran1999– Bob Pierce2000– Scott Bloomquist2001– Rained Out2002– Chub Frank2003– Dan Schlieper2004– Steve Shaver2005– Bart Hartman2006– Steve Shaver2007– Jimmy Owens2008– Darren Miller2009– Jimmy Mars2010– Jimmy Owens2011– Jimmy OwensCurrent Florence Speedway Late Model Points Standings 1.       Robby Hensley (Walton, KY) – 1573 2.       Josh Williams (West Harrison, IN) – 1496 3.       David Spille (Harrison, OH) – 1447 4.       James Rice (Verona, KY) – 1140 5.       Jesse James Lay (Verona, KY) – 1105 6.       Joe Janowski (Carmel, IN) – 1047 7.       Brandon Green (Walton, KY) – 1022 8.       Steve Landrum (Erlanger, KY) – 963 9.       Jeff Simonton (Cleves, OH) – 957 10.    Scott James (Lawrenceburg, IN) - 942 Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings 1.       Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 5495 2.       Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 5155 3.       Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 5120 4.       Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 5065 5.       John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) – 4725 6.       Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 4660 7.       Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) – 4560 8.       Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) – 4440 9.       Eric Wells (Hazard, KY) – 4275 10.    Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 4275 Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Standings 1.       Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, GA) – 4560 2.       Austin Hubbard (Seaford, DE) - 3380

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 10/22/19 - FINAL After Portsmouth

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 8170
2 39 Tim McCreadie 7700
3 14 Josh Richards 7660
4 1t Tyler Erb ® 7590
5 20 Jimmy Owens 7540
6 1m Devin Moran ® 7305
7 71 Hudson O'Neal 7235
8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 7160
9 40b Kyle Bronson 6525
10 50 Shanon Buckingham ...