KNOXVILLE,  IA (September 30, 2011) – Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN captured the opening  night of the 8th Annual Lucas Oil Knoxville Nationals Presented by Casey’s General Stores on Thursday Night at Knoxville Raceway.  Owens took the lead from Darrell Lanigan of Union, KY to score his first ever win at the historic oval. Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE placed third followed by Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA and Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL.

Lanigan grabbed the lead at the start of the 25-lap main with Chad Simpson and Owens in tow.  Owens, who started third on the grid quickly moved into contention for the lead as he raced past Simpson and began to challenge Lanigan for the top spot. Lanigan and Owens then battled it out for the race lead as Owens grabbed the point on lap nine.  A circuit later, Lanigan charged back around Owens to regain the lead.  Lanigan was only out in front for two more laps until Owens made the pass on the outside on lap 12.

Owens pulled away from a terrific battle for second between Lanigan, Hubbard, and Birkhofer.  Owens made it look easy in the final laps as he took the Mike Reece-owned Bloomquist Race Cars to victory lane.  “We’ve been here for the last two or three years, we’ve been decent, almost won here once before and Darrell (Lanigan) passed us late to win. To get a win here is special, this is such a nice place, we qualified kind of bad, but the invert helped us tonight,” said the 39-year-old driver.

“We were pretty good in the heat; we made some changes for the feature. We came here with a completely different motor program from Cornett, we were able to capitalize on that restart and we were able to pass Darrell for the win, if they can keep this track in this kind of shape for the rest of the weekend, it would be great. We are using the same setup as before, we jumped down to the bottom after getting by Darrell, it was a great win for us,” said Owens.

“We have to thank all of sponsors for their support, Reece Monument Company, Gantte Appraisals, Red Line Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal, Ohlins Shocks, C&C Trucking and Hoosier Tires, without them it would be difficult to do this.”

Lanigan claimed second in the Mark Richard Enterprises, Kentucky Fuel, Rocket Chassis Chevrolet with Hubbard in one of his best runs of the year, taking third in the Dale Beitler, Reliable Painting, Rocket Chassis. Birkhofer in the J&J Steel, Pro Power Racing Engines, MB Customs entry came from seventh to finish fourth just ahead of Babb in the Petroff Towing, Pro Power Racing Engines, Moyer Victory Circle Chevrolet.

Completing the top ten were Scott James of Lawrenceburg, IN, Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR, Will Vaught of Crane, MO, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA.

In preliminary action Scott Bloomquist was the Red Buck Cigars Fast Qualifier among the 64 entries.  Heat races were won by Bloomquist, Brian Birkhofer, Austin Hubbard, Steve Francis and Jimmy Mars. 

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto or call the series’ office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary

Thursday Night, September 29th, 2011

8th Annual Lucas Oil Knoxville Nationals

Knoxville Raceway – Knoxville, IA



Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:  

Scott Bloomquist / 17.335 seconds (Overall)



Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Brad Neat, Jared Landers, Tim McCreadie, Denny Eckrich, Brian Harris, Kevin Sather, Tim Lance, Al Humphrey, Chad Chenoweth, Chris Spieker

Wiles Driveshafts Second Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Brian Birkhofer, Will Vaught, Shannon Babb, Eric Wells, Charlie McKenna, Rich Bell, John Duty, Paul Glendenning, Curt Schroeder, Steve Casebolt, Bub McCool, Matt Furman, Mike Marlar

Sweet Manufacturing Third Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Austin Hubbard, Billy Moyer, Scot James, Jimmy Owens, Tyler Reddick, Kent Robertson, Jeremiah Hurst, Nick Marlof, Mike Fryer, Alonzo Grosse, Billy Moyer Jr.

HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (12 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Steve Francis, John Blankenship, Brian Shirley, Dan Schlieper, Rob Moss, Brady Smith, Kerry Hansen, Andy Eckrich, Jay Johnson, Dave Eckrich, Scot Lewis, Ray Cook, Mike Wallace

Sweet Manufacturing Fifth Heat (12 Laps – Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Mars, Dale McDowell, Darrel Lanigan, Jason Rauen, Jason Feger, Earl Pearson Jr., Jill George, Tyler Bruening, Darrel DeFrance, Junior Coover, Jason Utter, Don O’Neal

Wrisco Aluminum C-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Chris Spieker, Jack Sullivan, Ray Cook, Dave Eckrich, Mike Fryer, Darrell DeFrance, Tim Lance, Al Humphrey, Kevin Sather, Mike Wallace, Billy Moyer Jr., Scott Lewis, Jay Johnson, Alonzo Grosse, Nick Marlof, Junior Coover, Curt Schroeder, Chad Chenoweth

JRi Shocks B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Jason Feger, Tim McCreadie, Tyler Reddick, Jared Landers, Kent Robinson, Rob Moss, Earl Pearson Jr., Andy Eckrich, Frank Heckenast Jr., John Duty, Jeremiah Hurst, Brian Harris, Chris Spieker, Kerry Hansen, Jack Sullivan, Tyler Bruening, Rich Bell, Charlie McKenna, Dave Eckrich, Jill George, Brady Smith, Ray Cook, Paul Glendenning, Denny Eckrich

Feature Finish – 100 LapsJimmy Owens, Darrel Lanigan, Austin Hubbard, Brian Birkhofer, Shannon Babb, Scott James, Billy Moyer, Will Vaught, Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Chris Simpson, Tyler Reddick, Chad Simpson, Tim McCreadie, Jimmy Mars, Jason Feger, Brad Neat, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Dan Schlieper, Jason Rauen, Eric Wells, Steve Francis, Brian Shirley

Race Statistics

Entrants: 64

Lap Leaders: Darrel Lanigan (Laps 1 – 8); Jimmy Owens (Lap 9); Darrel Lanigain (Laps 10 -11); Jimmy Owens (Laps 12 – 25)

Caution Flags:  Steve Francis (Lap 7); Jason Rauen (Lap 13)

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: none

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: none

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time Provisionals:  none

PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Tyler Reddick (Started 23rd; Finished 12th; Advanced 11 positions)

Allstar Performer of the Race: Scott James

K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Jimmy Owens

Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Tyler Reddick

COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines

Janowski Insurance Feature Winner: Jimmy Owens

Outerwears Challenger of the Race: Tyler Reddick

Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Steve Francis Crew Chief of the Race: Chris Fox (Jimmy Owens)

Time of Race: 54 minutes 02 seconds



Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:







***These are the Points after Jackson 100 at Brownstown Speedway


-  Points will be re-calculated after Feature on Saturday of Knoxville Nationals














Scott Bloomquist

Mooresburg, TN




Jimmy Owens

Newport, TN




Don O'Neal

Martinsville, IN




Steve Francis

Ashland, KY




Jared Landers

Batesville, AR




Earl Pearson, Jr.

Jacksonville, FL




Brad Neat

Dunnville, KY




John Blankenship

Williamson, WV




Ray Cook

Brasstown, NC




Tyler Reddick

Corning, CA




Dale McDowell

Chickamauga, GA




Eric Wells

Hazard, KY




Bub McCool

Vicksburg, MS




Frank Heckenast, Jr.

Frankfort, IL




Steve Casebolt

Richmond, IN


2021 Championship Points

Points as of 5/1/2021
Pos Competitor Points
1stTim McCreadie (#39)2210
2ndHudson O'Neal (#71)2165
3rdJonathan Davenport (#49)2090
4thRicky Thornton (#20RT)1995
5thShane Clanton (#25)1990
6thJosh Richards (#14)1985
7thDevin Moran (#9)1975
8thTyler Erb (#1T)1970
9thKyle Bronson (#40B)1945
10thMike Marlar (#157)1910

Live Timing