WAYCROSS, GA (August 23, 2011) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is preparing for a big weekend of racing with three events in the states of Tennessee, Indiana and Kentucky.  Each series event will pay $10,000 to win and $700 to start the main events.

Action this week gets underway on Thursday Night, August 25th at Joe and Phyllis Loven’s Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN for the 8th Annual Scorcher Presented by Reece Monument Company in Tazewell, TN.  It will be the eighth visit by the LOLMDS to Volunteer Speedway with seven different winners.  Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN leads the list of previous Lucas Oil Series winners at “The Gap” with two victories.  Others who have tasted victory lane at the track in series competition include; 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, Dale McDowell  of Chickamauga, GA, Tim McCreadie of Watertown, NY, Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC and current series points leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN.

For more information on the LOLMDS event at Volunteer Speedway on Thursday you can visit the track’s website at www.volunteerspeedway.com or call (423) 235-5020.

Then on Friday, August 26th the series shifts to the north with a visit to the Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN for the biggest Late Model show the track will host in 2011.  Last year’s huge crowd witnessed Dale McDowell take the victory.  It will be the third appearance by the nation’s premier dirt late model sanctioning body to the Dave Rudisell-promoted facility.  Prior to McDowell’s win a year ago, Darren Miller of Milledgeville, IL and Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, IA won Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned events at Lawrenceburg Speedway.  This year’s event will be taped by Lucas Oil Production Studios for a SPEED Channel broadcast on September 17th at 2 PM Eastern.

For more information on the LOLMDS event at Lawrenceburg Speedway on Friday you can visit the track’s website at www.lawrenceburgspeedway.com or you can call (812) 539-4700.

On Saturday Night, August 27th the series will wrap-up a whirlwind of racing action with a visit to David and Anita Ferrell’s Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown, KY for their biggest event of the season.  The 11th Annual Cornett Racing Engines Bluegrass Classic will be held.  Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN is the defending race winner.  The visit to the Bardstown will be the ninth appearance by the series which traditionally has drawn the largest crowds of the season to the half-mile facility.

For more information on the LOLMDS event at Bluegrass Speedway on Saturday you can visit the track’s website at www.bluegrass-speedway.com or call (502) 349-1241.

"Lucas Oil and the LOLMDS are very excited about this weekend’s events. With three nights of racing on three consecutive nights, race fans will see some great racing action at three different venues. We’re expecting a great field of drivers and some big crowds at all three events”, stated Ritchie Lewis, series director.

After this past weekend’s 19th Annual COMP Cams Topless 100, Jimmy Owens maintains the series points lead in the race for the $75,000 to win championship.  Owens leads Scott Bloomquist by 140 points after they finished first and second at Batesville in the $40,000 to win annual event.  Don O’Neal is third in points followed by Steve Francis of Ashland, KY and Earl Pearson Jr.

Jared Landers of Batesville, AR, who placed third in the Topless 100 this past weekend, is currently leading the Quarter Master “Rookie of the Year” competition.  Landers leads 15-year-old Tyler Reddick, who finished fifth in the Topless 100, Bub McCool of Vicksburg, MS and Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort, IL.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series you can visit www.lucasdirt.com or call the series office at (951) 532-2503. Follow the series on the social media outlets as well at http://www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and http://twitter.com/#!/lucasdirt.

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 1/26/2021
Pos Competitor Points
1stTyler Erb (#1T)655
2ndBrandon Overton (#76)640
3rdDevin Moran (#9)625
4thHudson O'Neal (#71)575
5thBrandon Sheppard (#1s)570
6thMike Marlar (#157)540
7thTony Jackson (#56JR)540
8thKyle Bronson (#40B)525
9thTanner English (#81E)525
10thBrian Shirley (#3s)520

Live Timing