FONDA, NY (July 27, 2010) – Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN took the lead with ten laps to go and then dominated the final laps to win the first ever LOLMDS sanctioned event at Fonda Speedway. The win marked Owens’ 20th victory in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series competition ever. Vic Coffey of Caledonia, NY kept the home state fans on their feet by finishing second. Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, finished third followed by series points’ leader, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and Billy Decker of Unadilla, NY.

"Man I didn’t know at the start if we picked the right tires or not, we dropped back to sixth after starting on the front row, but I have to thank Vic Coffey for showing me that outside line," exclaimed Owens. "I was able to get the momentum I needed up there and once we caught up to O’Neal and passed him, the car was awesome," said the 38-year-old driver in Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 20th time in his career.

"I have to thank my car owner, Mike Reece, Reece Monument Company, Gantte Appraisals and Red Line Oil. I also want to thank Scott (Bloomquist) for building a great race car, Cornett Engines and everybody on the crew," said Owens.

The event was the first Late Model Race at Fonda Speedway since 1982 and did not lack any excitement. O’Neal bolted to the lead and led the first 39 laps of the race. He held off challenges from both Decker and McDowell early on. Owens managed to make a late-race run to grab his second consecutive series win.

Coffey, started eighth in the Sweeteners Plus sponsored Rocket and put on a late charge. He passed O'Neal for second with four laps to go. O'Neal in the Superior Cleaning sponsored MasterSbilt had the strongest car for most of the race as he had to fight off a late-race charge from Bloomquist who placed a close fourth in the Miller Brothers Construction, Bloomquist Race Cars entry. Decker in the Gypsum Express Rocket gave the home state fans a thrill early on. He was constantly challenging O’Neal for the lead in the early goings, before fading to fifth at the finish.

Completing the top ten were Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA; Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC; Dan Stone of Thompson, PA; and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV.

O'Neal was the Red Buck Cigar Fast Qualifier among the 23 entries. Heat race winners were O'Neal, Owens and Decker. Dale Caswell captured the B-Main.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series stays in the state of New York for a second-ever visit to Utica-Rome Speedway in Vernon, NY. The event will be held on Thursday Night, July 29th for a $10,000 to win main event. Ray Cook won the series’ first ever event at the facility last year. For more information, check out

Race Summary

Tuesday Night, July 27th, 2010
Fonda Speedway – Fonda, NY

  • Red Buck Cigars Fast Time: Don O’Neal / 18.427 seconds (Overall and Group A) Jimmy Owens / 18.485 seconds (Group B)
  • Wiles Driveshaft’s First Heat (10 Laps- Top 6 Advance): Don O’Neal, Dale McDowell, Earl Pearson Jr., John Blankenship, Brad Neat, Tyler Reddick, Dale Caswell, James Cornell
  • AFCO Racing Products Second Heat (10 Laps- Top 6 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Vic Coffey, Dan Schlieper, Tim Isenberg, Larry Wight, Steve Casebolt, Justin Wright
  • Allstar Performance Third Heat (10 Laps- Top 6 Advance): Billy Decker, Chris Wall, Ray Cook, Daniel Stone, Eric Wells, David Zona, Jon Rohacevich
  • Hawk Brake First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 5 Advance): Dale Caswell, Justin Wright, James Cornell, Jon Rohacevich, Steve Casebolt

Feature Finish – 50 Laps

1 2 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
2 8 32c Vic Coffey Caledonia, NY
3 1 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
4 5 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
5 3 91 Billy Decker Unadilla, NY
6 7 44 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
7 4 17m Dale McDowell Chickamauga, GA
8 9 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
9 12 21d Daniel Stone Thompson, PA
10 10 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
11 23 c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond, IN
12 14 9t Tim Isenberg Marshfield, WI
13 13 41n Brad Neat Dunnville, KY
14 15 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
15 22 24J Jon Rohacevich Prattsville, NY
16 19 R19 Dale Caswell Central Square, NY
17 16 11t Tyler Reddick Grayson, KY
18 17 99L Larry Wight Phoenix, NY
19 18 99z David Zona Montrose, PA
20 20 32x Justin Wright Piffard, NY
21 11 s9 Dan Schlieper Sullivan, WI
22 6 71w Chris Wall Springfield, LA
23 21 13B James Cornell Harpersville, NY

Race Statistics

  • Entrants: 23
  • Lap Leaders: Don O’Neal (Laps 1- 39); Jimmy Owens (Laps 40 – 50)
  • Caution Flags: Jon Rohacevich (Lap 7); Larry Wight (Lap 11); Dan Schlieper (Lap 11)
  • Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: None 
  • Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: None
  • PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Steve Casebolt (Started 23rd; Finished 11th; Advanced 12 positions)
  • Ohlin’s Shocks Performer of the Race: Don O’Neal
  • K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Jimmy Owens
  • Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: Tim Isenberg
  • Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Cornett Racing Engines
  • Dominator Race Products Hard Luck Award: Chris Wall
  • Crew Chief of the Race: Chris Fox (Jimmy Owens)
  • Time of Race: 29 minutes, 12 seconds

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 9/26/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1stJimmy Owens (#20)7655
2ndTim McCreadie (#39)7175
3rdJonathan Davenport (#49)7000
4thJosh Richards (#14)6925
5thTyler Erb (#1T)6750
6thShane Clanton (#25)6430
7thDevin Moran (#9)6380
8thKyle Bronson (#40B)6330
9thTanner English (#81E)6125
10thBilly Moyer (#21)6035

Live Timing