UNION, KY (August 13, 2010) – Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA was the quickest of the 71 entrants for the 28th Annual North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil on Friday Night at Florence Speedway.  McDowell earned $1,000 courtesy of Red Buck Cigars for the achievement.  His fast lap around the half-mile high-banked oval was 17.335 seconds.  This was the first fast time for McDowell in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series competition this year. Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN was second quick to McDowell in Group A; his fast lap was 17.367 seconds.  Trailing Marlar and McDowell in the group were Greg Johnson of Bedford, IN; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; and Freddy Smith of Seymour, TN.  Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL was the fastest qualifier in Group B with a quick lap of 17.393 seconds.  Following Pearson were Bart Hartman of Zanesville, OH; Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, TN; Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, WV; and Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN.

On Saturday, both the pit gates and general admission gates will open at 3 PM.  Activities at the speedway will get underway with a Dirt Racing Outreach service beginning at 3:15 PM in the vendor area, all are welcome to attend. The stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be on hand for a driver’s autograph session that will take place from 4-4:45 PM in the same area.  The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies will be held at PM.  Action on the track for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will begin at 8 PM with six 12-lap heat races.  Other events for the LOLMDS include B-Mains and the 28th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 Presented by Lucas Oil.  The event will pay $50,000 to win.  Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, WI is the defending race winner.

For more information on Florence Speedway, please visit the track’s website at www.florencespeedway.com. 

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, visit www.lucasdirt.com or call the series’ office at (951) 532-2503.

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 7/4/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1stJimmy Owens (#20)4015
2ndJonathan Davenport (#49)3595
3rdTyler Erb (#1T)3535
4thTim McCreadie (#39)3475
5thDevin Moran (#9)3465
6thJosh Richards (#14)3435
7thKyle Bronson (#40B)3365
8thShane Clanton (#25)3275
9thBilly Moyer (#21)3130
10thTanner English (#81E)3000

Live Timing