TAMPA, FL (February 12, 2010) - For the sixth consecutive year, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned the 34th Annual DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL. At the end of the six days of racing, Dennis Erb Jr. had claimed his second DART Winternationals Points Championship.  The 37-year-old, second generation racer from Carpentersville, IL earned a check for $5,000 and a nice trophy for his accomplishments.  Erb also won the title back in 2006.

Erb started all six main events during the week. He recorded two top-five finishes and six top ten finishes.  His average finish was sixth, amongst the stiff competition that comes to race each year at the "Clay by the Bay."  Erb captured the 2010 title by 50 points over his nearest competitor, Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN. Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC was third in the final points followed by Matt Miller of Waterville, OH and a tie for fifth among Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN and Eric Jacobsen of Seacliffe Beach, CA.

After last Saturday's main event Erb was announced as the weeklong points champion and was extremely appreciative of winning the title again.  "I have to thank everyone at DART Machinery for this check and trophy. Thanks to them for helping the racers down here at East Bay, I always enjoy coming here to race. It gets kind of wild out there sometimes, everybody races each other hard here and I am glad to come home with the championship at the end of the week. I want to thank my crew chief, Heather Lyne, my sponsors, and Lucas Oil for everything they do for the racing industry."

Erb is currently fifth in the Lucas Oil Championship Points following the reset in points after East Bay. He plans on competing in the next three Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series events in March as one of the 20 drivers eligible for the Sunoco Race Fuels "Road to Wheatland" bonus program.

Erb, who has both a C.J. Rayburn Race Car and a Barry Wright Race Car at his disposal, drove the Rayburn mount for all six nights of competition at East Bay. A Vic Hill Racing Engine powers the car.  His sponsors are Thomason Express LLC, Petroff Towing, McBride MACK, PRC, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Allstar Performance, AFCO Racing Products, Petersen Aluminum, and Dodd Signs.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 7/4/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1stJimmy Owens (#20)4015
2ndJonathan Davenport (#49)3595
3rdTyler Erb (#1T)3535
4thTim McCreadie (#39)3475
5thDevin Moran (#9)3465
6thJosh Richards (#14)3435
7thKyle Bronson (#40B)3365
8thShane Clanton (#25)3275
9thBilly Moyer (#21)3130
10thTanner English (#81E)3000

Live Timing