CORONA, CA (July 12, 2010) – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series roars back into action with visits to Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, IL for the “Budweiser 50” this Friday Night, July 16th and Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO for the “CMH Diamond Nationals” on Saturday Night, July 17th.  Both events will pay $10,000 to win and $700 to start and will be taped by the cameras of SPEED.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is coming off of a very successful “Clash at the Mag” this past weekend at Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, MS. A record-setting crowd saw Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, FL win his sixth series event of 2010. The event was also his third in a row, and the 23rd of his career. Pearson is now in sole possession of first place in all-time series wins, one ahead of defending LOLMDS National Champion, Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN.

Pearson will be attempting to set an all-time series record with his fourth consecutive victory on Friday Night. The event will be held at Kevin and Tammy Gundaker’s Tri-City Speedway, located across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, MO.  Earlier this year Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; who is second in the championship point’s standings, had a chance to win four in a row. He was denied victory at La Salle (IL) Speedway back in May when Bloomquist snapped Owens’ win streak at three.

The visit to Tri-City Speedway this Friday Night for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will mark the sixth straight year that the series has come to the 3/8ths mile high-banked oval. Pearson, Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL; Billy Moyer of Batesville, AR (Twice); and Martinsville, IN veteran and Lucas Oil Series driver, Don O’Neal are among the winners who have graced victory lane at Tri-City in the past five years.

On Saturday Night, the stars of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, along with the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Model Series will visit the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks” Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO.  The appearance by the LOLMDS is the ninth all-time at the track. Iowa’s Brian Birkhofer has taken home three victories at the track since 2006.  Other series winners at Lucas Oil Speedway includes Pearson, who has won twice; Shannon Babb, Bart Hartman, and this year’s $30,000 to win DART “Show-Me 100” Champion, Ray Cook of Brasstown, NC.

Scott Bloomquist, the 2009 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion will try to extend his points lead this weekend.  Bloomquist currently holds a 195-point lead over Jimmy Owens.  Earl Pearson, Jr. has crept to within 80 points of Owens with his recent hot-streak of victories.  Ray Cook continues to come on strong in the point’s battle. He garnered his seventh consecutive top four-finish this past weekend in Mississippi.  Don O’Neal currently sits in the fifth spot in points; he is looking to get back into the winner’s circle this weekend.

The remainder of the top ten in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Standings include Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA; Chris Wall of Holden, LA; Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI; Steve Casebolt of Richmond, IN; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.

Wall leads the Quarter Master “Rookie of the Year” standings by 65-points over Wells with Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, WI, third. He has also picked up two spots in the championship points standings in the last two weeks.

Brad Looney of Republic, MO currently leads the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Model Series point’s standings. He holds a narrow lead over veteran, Al Purkey of Coffeyville, KS.  Dave Eckrich of Oxford, IA is third in points. Rounding out the Top-5 are teammates, Terry Phillips and Jeremy Payne; both hail from Springfield, MO.

Hall of Famer, Joe Kosiski of Omaha, NE comes into the “CMH Diamond Nationals” sixth in points. Evan Hubert of Cross Timbers, MO; Chad Simpson of Mt. Vernon, IA; Chris Spieker of Massena, IA; and Bill Koons of Omaha, NE round out the Top-10.

Drivers with perfect attendance on the LOLMDS also get a chance to accumulate points in the E3 Spark Plugs Television Challenge at both events this weekend.  After his win in the “Clash at the Mag”, Earl Pearson Jr. has taken over the E3 points lead. The winner of the E# Spark plugs Television Challenge will receive $2500 cash.  Scott Bloomquist has moved to second in the E3 Spark Plugs Challenge, followed by Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, and Dan Schlieper.  Second place will receive a $1500 cash award.  

For more information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series events this weekend, log onto and

The tire rule for the weekend will be as follows: at Tri-City Speedway the tire rule will be; American Racer SD44 and MD56 and Hoosier LM20, 1600, LM40 and WRS55.  The tire rule at Lucas Oil Speedway will be; American Racer SD44, SD48, MD53 and MD56, Hoosier 1300, 1350, 1600, LM20, LM40 and WRS55.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, go to or call the series’ office at (951) 532-2503.

2010 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Event Results

East Bay (FL) Raceway Park – Mike Marlar (Winner)

East Bay (FL) Raceway Park – Scott Bloomquist (Winner)

East Bay (FL) Raceway Park – Billy Moyer (Winner)

East Bay (FL) Raceway Park – Earl Pearson Jr. (Winner)

East Bay (FL) Raceway Park – Scott Bloomquist (Winner)

East Bay (FL) Raceway Park – Don O’Neal (Winner)

Volunteer (TN) Speedway –Ray Cook (Winner)

Cherokee (SC) Speedway – Scott Bloomquist (Winner)

Brownstown (IN) Speedway – Jimmy Owens (Winner)

Bedford (PA) Speedway – Jimmy Owens (Winner)

Hagerstown (MD) Speedway – Rained Out

Paducah (KY) International Raceway – Rained Out

Wythe (VA) Raceway – Jimmy Owens (Winner)

La Salle (IL) Speedway – Scott Bloomquist (Winner)

34 (IA) Raceway – Earl Pearson Jr. (Winner)

Lucas Oil (MO) Speedway – Ray Cook (Winner)

Tazewell (TN) Speedway – Brad Neat (Winner)

Florence (KY) Speedway – Earl Pearson Jr. (Winner)

Cleveland (TN) Speedway – Jimmy Owens (Winner)

Volunteer (TN) Speedway – Jimmy Owens (Winner)

Volunteer (TN) Speedway – Scott Bloomquist (Winner)

Beckley (WV) Motorsports Park – Ray Cook (Winner)

Muskingum County (OH) Speedway – Earl Pearson Jr. (Winner)

Portsmouth (OH) Raceway – Earl Pearson Jr. (Winner)

Magnolia (MS) Motor Speedway – Earl Pearson Jr. (Winner)

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship

Points as of 2/9/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1st Brandon Sheppard (1s) 1190
2nd Tim McCreadie (39) 1150
3rd Devin Moran (9) 1115
4th Jonathan Davenport (49) 1075
5th Tyler Erb (1T) 1050
6th Mike Marlar (157) 1025
7th Kyle Bronson (40B) 980
8th Jimmy Owens (20) 975
9th Billy Moyer (21) 965
10th Brian Shirley (3s) 960

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

* Required