ZANESVILLE, OH (July 3, 2009) – Taking the lead on lap three Jason Covert of York Haven, PA withstood three caution flags and heavy race traffic as he went unchallenged in winning his first career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series main event on Friday Night at Muskingum Speedway. His victory in the Creno’s 50 earned him a cool $10,000 in the Lucas Oil Victory Lane.  Covert’s win allowed him to become the 18th different winner this season on the LOLMDS tour.

Eric Jacobsen led the first three laps until Covert who started third stormed to the lead.  Covert quickly stretched his lead as Jacobsen and Earl Pearson Jr. battled for second for several laps until Pearson passed the #5 machine on lap 13.  On the restart, Jacobsen retook second spot from Pearson as a torrid battle resumed for the runnerup spot behind the high flying Covert.

Covert held a commanding lead until the caution came out for Tim Dohm on lap 23. While under caution, the red flag came out as the lights went out in turn two.  After an extended break the race went green with Covert again racing unchallenged for the lead with Jacobsen, Josh Richards, Pearson and Steve Casebolt running in the top five.

Richards took second from Jacobsen on lap 23, but Covert had built a huge advantage over Richards and Pearson who climbed to third passing Jacobsen.  With heavy traffic in front of him the rest of the way Covert methodically worked his way around several cars putting them a lap down.  Covert then cleared his final hurdle as he had a clear race track in front of him with three laps to go as he had done his job in putting several cars between himself and Richards.

Covert then went on to score a convincing win becoming the fifth different driver in five Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series appearances at Muskingum County.  Richards held off Pearson at the line for second with Jacobsen coming home in fourth followed by the PBM/Erson cams Hard Charger of the Race, Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH who finished fifth after starting in 20th.

In the Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the first time, Covert thanked a multitude of people.  “I can’t believe I finally won a Lucas Oil race, I’ve dreamt about this for a long time, the type of drivers who were here tonight, man I don’t know what to say except I wish my dad was here to see this.  I want to thank my car owner Barry Klinedinst, my crew, Robbie Allen, American Racer Tires and Rocket Chassis everything was exceptional tonight and thanks to the fans for coming here to watch us race, I don’t race for a living, we don’t get to travel a lot, so that’s why it’s satisfying to win this race here tonight,” said the 38-year old racer who’s car receives sponsorship from Red Wing Shoes, VP Racing Fuels, Bam’s Auto Center, Pre-Mach Inc. Fabricators and Machining Dennis Eberly Building and Remodeling and Kuppy’s Diner.

Completing the top ten were Steve Casebolt, Jimmy Owens, Ray Cook, Dale McDowell and Bart Hartman.

In preliminary action Josh Richards was the PRC Fast Time in qualifications with a lap of 16.287 seconds among the 43 entrants on hand.  Heat race winners were Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Eric Jacobsen and Jason Covert.  Kyle Bates and Freddy Smith were B-main winners.

To find out more about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log on to www.lucasdirt.com or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary Friday Night, July 3rd, 2009 “Creno’s 50” @ Muskingum County Speedway – Zanesville, OH

PRC Fast Time: Josh Richards / 16.287 seconds   

Hawk Brake First Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Earl Pearson Jr., Josh Richards, Josh McGuire, Matt Lux, Kyle Bates, Chad Hina, Devin Moran, Steve Bigley, Bryan Casey, Robert Flanagan, Russell Frohnapfel

Hawk Brake Second Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Steve Casebolt, Dale McDowell, Dan Schlieper, Tim Dohm, Matt Miller, Ryan Markham, David Breazeale, Tracy Fritter, Steve Prince, Cortney Clewell

AFCO Racing Products Third Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Eric Jacobsen, Scott Bloomquist, Bart Hartman, Brad Neat, Freddy Smith, Shane McLoughlin, Dan Shrigley, Lance Elson, Weston Hutichison, Cody Parker, Rick Aukland

Tiger Rear Ends Fourth Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Jason Covert, Ray Cook, Doug Dodd, Don O’Neal, Steve Shaver, Donnie Moran, John Blankenship, Michael Walker, Corey Conley, Ty Myers

Mason Racin’ Rebel Shock Dyno First B-Main (12 Laps- Top 3 Advance): Kyle Bates, Matt Miller, Tim Dohm, Devin Moran, David Breazeale, Bryan Casey, Tracy Fritter, Robert Flanagan, Ryan Markham, Russell Frohnapfel, Chad Hina, Steve Prince, Steve Bigley, Cortney Clewell-DNS

Wiles Drive Shafts Second B-Main (12 Laps-Top 3 Advance): Freddy Smith, Donnie Moran, Shane McLoughlin, Steve Shaver, Dan Shrigley, John Blankenship, Lance Elson, Cody Parker, Corey Conley, Ty Myers, Michael Walker, Weston Hutchison, Rick Aukland-DNS

Feature Finish (50 Laps): Jason Covert, Josh Richards, Earl Pearson Jr., Eric Jacobsen, Donnie Moran, Steve Casebolt, Jimmy Owens, Ray Cook, Dale McDowell, Bart Hartman, Scott Bloomquist, Doug Dodd, Josh McGuire, Don O’Neal, Dan Schlieper, Matt Lux, Freddy Smith, Devin Moran, David Breazeale, Shane McLoughlin, John Blankenship, Kyle Bates, Cody Parker, Brad Neat, Tim Dohm, Matt Miller.

Finish (Start) Car Number Driver Name

1.  (4) #43A Jason Covert

2.  (5) #25 Josh Richards

3.  (1) #44 Earl Pearson Jr.

4.  (2) #5 Eric Jacobsen

5.  (20) #99 Donnie Moran

6.  (7) #c9 Steve Casebolt

7.  (3) #20 Jimmy Owens

8.  (8) #53 Ray Cook

9.  (11) #17M Dale McDowell

10.  (10) #75 Bart Hartman

11.  (6) #0 Scott Bloomquist

12.  (12) #12D Doug Dodd

13.  (9) #41 Josh McGuire

14.  (16) #71 Don O’Neal

15.  (15) #s9 Dan Schlieper

16.  (13) #21L Matt Lux

17.  (18) #00 Freddy Smith

18.  (26) #99M Devin Moran

19.  (24) #54 David Breazeale

20.  (22) #9M Shane McLoughlin

21.  (23) #23 John Blankenship

22.  (17) #11b Kyle Bates

23.  (25) #63 Cody Parker

24.  (14) #41N Brad Neat

25.  (21) #17T Tim Dohm

26.  (19) #7 Matt Miller

Race Statistics

Entries: 43 Caution Flags: Matt Miller (Lap 12); Tim Dohm, Brad Neat (Lap 13); Tim Dohm (Lap 23) Lap Leaders: Eric Jacobsen (1-2); Jason Covert (3-50) Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: John Blankenship, David Breazeale PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race: Donnie Moran Allstar Performance Performer of the Race: Eric Jacobsen K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Josh Richards Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: David Breazeale Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Hershey’s Racing Engines Time of the Race: 56 minutes 06 seconds

2009 Championship Points Standings

1.  Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) 3525

2.  Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA)  3200

3.  Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL)  3185

4.  Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN)  3180

5.  Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC)  3130

6.  Steve Casebolt (Richmond, IN) 2990

6.  Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN)  2990

8.  Brad Neat (Dunnville, KY)  2825

9.  Josh McGuire (Grayson, KY) 2720

10.  Dan Schlieper (Sullivan, WI)  2530

11.  John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) 2520

11.  Eric Jacobsen (Seacliffe Beach, CA) 2520

13.  David Breazeale (Four Corners, MS)  2260

14.  Freddy Smith (Seymour, TN)  2185

17. Michael Walker (Franklin, TN)  1635

2009 Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Points Standings

1.  John Blankenship (Williamson, WV)  2500

2.  David Breazeale (Four Corners, MS) 2260

3.  Michael Walker (Franklin, TN) 1635

4.  Jeep VanWormer (Pinnconning, MI)  1590

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship

Points as of 2/9/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1st Brandon Sheppard (1s) 1190
2nd Tim McCreadie (39) 1150
3rd Devin Moran (9) 1115
4th Jonathan Davenport (49) 1075
5th Tyler Erb (1T) 1050
6th Mike Marlar (157) 1025
7th Kyle Bronson (40B) 980
8th Jimmy Owens (20) 975
9th Billy Moyer (21) 965
10th Brian Shirley (3s) 960

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

* Required