CORONA, CA (December 3rd, 2009) - The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series wrapped up its 2009 season on Saturday Night, November 21st with its awards banquet at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, IN.  Scott Bloomquist ofMooresburg, TN was crowned the 2009 series champion for the first time and John Blankenship of Williamson, WV took the Quarter Master “Rookie of the Year” honors.

For the 46-year-old Bloomquist, the 2009 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship marks the seventh national series title of his Hall-of-Fame career. Bloomquist notched 22 top-5 finishes and 30 top-10 finishes in 36 events, and one victory on the season (last event at Rome Speedway).  In his Lucas Oil Series career, Bloomquist has started 91 series main events with 17 wins, 47 top-5 finishes and 78 top-10 finishes.  His 17 career series wins ties him for the most with 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson Jr. ofJacksonville, FL.

Bloomquist also picked up several other awards to go along with his $75,000 check from the points fund for winning the championship, as his Bloomquist Race Cars Chassis took top honors in the Chassis Builder Challenge.  Other drivers who ran the Team Zero cars with the series this year included runner-up in points, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN; Eric Jacobsen of Seacliffe Beach, CA (9th in points); Rookie of the Year John Blankenship (10th in points); and Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI (11th in points).

Bloomquist was also the winner of the AFCO Racing Products check for $500 for the most heat race wins, he also received 10 sheets of aluminum courtesy of Wrisco Aluminum, and a check for $500 plus a $150 certificate from Performance Rod and Custom for the most fast times during the season.

Bloomquist also was presented a certificate from his engine builder, Vic Hill of Vic Hill Racing Engines and he also won a set of rods from Dyers’ Top Rods for being the series champion.  He also walked away with a new Dixie Chopper lawn mower for garnering the most Dixie Chopper Challenge points for those events taped by the SPEED Channel.

In his victory speech, Bloomquist thanked a multitude of people including his family, sponsors, crew and acquaintances.   “It’s been a really good year, we didn’t get the number of wins we are accustomed to, but we were consistent and that’s the bottom line in winning one of these championships, my crew did a great job this year, I asked them to change the engine several times this year, not because of performance, but because I have different size engines for different size race tracks.  I kept them on their toes a lot.”  Bloomquist’ crew consists of Tony Wiggins, Jesse Kerns and crew chief Tommy Hicks, who was awarded the Cruise with the Champions “Crew Chief of the Year” during the ceremonies.

“I have to thank Bob and Barb Miller for their support, they are like family to me, they couldn’t be here tonight, but we are thinking of them and all I can say is thank you,” as Bloomquist had a special made trophy for the couple who are longtime supporters of Bloomquist with their Miller Brothers Coal and Hawkeye Trucking sponsorship.

“Of course I have to thank my wife Katrina, my mother, Georgie and my daughter Ariel, they couldn’t make it to all the races, but I just want to thank them for being there for me and for their help with the souvenir trailer and special thanks goes to the promoters for having Lucas Oil events and all the fans who came out to support us.”

“The sponsors we have have played such a significant role in our success over the years and this year was no exception., I have to thank Allstar Performance, Sweet Manufacturing, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tires,  Arizona Sports Shirts, Lane Automotive and all the rest of our product sponsors that help us out, we appreciate all of you.”

“I want to thank Forrest Lucas for all he has done for racing, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the best series from top to bottom in racing, they have assembled a great staff, I may not always agree with something they do, but they are fair to all the racers and they are organized, it’s so tough to go out and win a series championship nowadays, there are a alot of talented drivers out there, we enjoyed this season, it was a  lot of hard work from a several people that got the job done,” said Bloomquist who said he will be back to defend his title in 2010.

In 2009 the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned 40 events in 18 races with 21 different winners getting to victory lane.  The average car count per event was 49.8 with 606 drivers competing at least once with the series this year with 13 drivers earning perfect attendance.  Over $620,000 was paid out by the series in points fund and winner’s circle monies with $1.9 million in purse money paid out by the tracks who hosted the events.

There were seven new event winners this year including: Josh Richards, Dennis Erb Jr., Tim Fuller, Jason Covert, Brad Neat, Jake Knowles and Casey Roberts.  There were three Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regulars who set new track records in qualifying this year including Dan Schlieper at East Bay (FL) Raceway Park, Scott Bloomquist at Bedford (PA) Speedway and Earl Pearson Jr. at Dixie (GA) Speedway.

The Mike Swims Award of Excellence was presented to Don and Billie Gibson, the retiring promoters of West Plains Motor Speedway in West Plains, MO.

James Essex, the voice of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series was the host for the event which also featured speeches from Tom Fredrickson of Lucas Oil Products and Series Director, Ritchie Lewis.

The 2010 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series season will kick off again at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL for the DART Winternationals which start on February 1st.

For a look at the 2010 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series schedule and the latest breaking news, log onto or call the series office at (951) 532.2503.

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 08/18/19 - After Batesville

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 6195
2 14 Josh Richards 5625
3 39 Tim McCreadie 5575
4 1T Tyler Erb ® 5515
5 20 Jimmy Owens 5435
6 1M Devin Moran ® 5420
7 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 5410
8 71 Hudson O'Neal 5275
9 50 Shanon Buckingham 4755
10 40B Kyle Bronson 4705