BRUNSWICK, GA (April 6, 2008) – Earl Pearson Jr., of Jacksonville, FL, started ninth and led just one lap en route to claiming the $10,000 feature win. Scott Bloomquist, of Mooresburg, TN, led 49 laps of 50, only to finish second in the final rundown. Steve Casebolt, of Richmond, IN, finished third after battling the final few laps with eventual race winner Earl Pearson Jr.


Bloomquist, who started outside of the first row alongside Terry Casey, jumped out to an early lead on the start. Bloomquist led much of the early half of the race with little pressure. Around halfway he began to fend off challenges from Jacksonville’s Jason Fitzgerald. Fitzgerald took advantage of heavy lap traffic to apply pressure on Bloomquist. On lap 28, the first caution flew for Crossville, TN’s Randy Weaver, who pulled up lame atop turn two.


Fitzgerald chose the inside of the second row for the ‘Dixie/Delaware’ Double File Restart. Casebolt, who was running third at the time, was forced to restart outside of the second row. On the restart Casebolt moved by Fitzgerald while Bloomquist began to extend his lead as Casebolt tried to chase him down.


With only twelve laps remaining, the second of only two cautions, waved over the field for Guyton, GA’s Shane Riner, who looped his mount in turn four. This allowed the field to close on Bloomquist. The ensuing Double File Restart saw Casebolt choose the top, forcing third place Fitzgerald to the inside.


As the green waved, Casebolt charged into turn one, showing Bloomquist his nose. Bloomquist held off the challenge. Pearson, who was now fourth, moved by Fitzgerald on lap 39 and set his sights on Casebolt.  Casebolt tried several different lines to move by Bloomquist, but every time it was to no avail.


With only two laps remaining, Pearson moved by Casebolt on the outside, and began to try and eat into the ten car-length lead that Bloomquist had. As the field came to the white flag, the crowd was on its feet as Pearson had closed to the rear deck lid of the race leader. Bloomquist entered turn one hugging the bottom line, and Pearson used the top. With the momentum of the top, Pearson catapulted into the lead down the backstretch. Pearson exited turn four to the sight of the checkered flag and the sound of the crowd as he went on to claim the win ahead of Bloomquist.


“It feels great to come here and win in front of this amazing crowd. I cut my teeth at this track and to come here and pass Scott Bloomquist is awesome,” stated an elated Pearson in victory lane.


Pearson’s Bobby Labonte Racing MasterSbilt Chassis is powered by a Larry Wallace Race Engine, and is sponsored by Life Long Locks and Lucas Oil.


You can find out more about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series by logging on to www.lucasdirt.com or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.


Lucas oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary

Sunday Night, April 6, 2008

Golden Isles Speedway -- Brunswick, GA


PRC Fast Time: Jimmy Owens/15.270 seconds


Hawk Brake First Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Steve Casebolt, Justin Rattliff, Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Chris Madden, Bart Hartman, Billy Drake, Jimmy Owens, Steven Howard


Hawk Brake Second Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Terry Casey, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Carlton Jackson, Dan Schlieper, Shanon Buckingham, Damon Eller, Randy Weaver, Bodine Massengill


AFCO Racing Products Third Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Jason Fitzgerald, Earl Pearson Jr., Donnie Moran, Shane Riner, Russell Brown Jr., Dillon Wood, Ches-ley Dixon, Freddy Smith


Tiger Rear Ends Fourth Heat (10 Laps-Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Randle Chupp, Dean Bowen, Scott James, Wayne Chinn, John Mason, Tyler Ivey, Casey Barrow


Mason Racin’ Rebel Shock Dyno First B-Main (12 Laps-Top 3 Advance): Bart Hartman, Shanon Buckingham, Randy Weaver, Damon Eller, Steven Howard, Bodine Massengill, Billy Drake, Jimmy Owens - DNS


Quarter Master Second B-Main (12 Laps-Top 3 Advance): Wayne Chinn, Tyler Ivey, Dillon Wood, John Mason, Freddy Smith, Russell Brown Jr., Casey Barrow, Ches-ley Dixon


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Feature Finish (50 Laps): Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Steve Casebolt, Jason Fitzgerald, Bart Hartman, Justin Rattliff, Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Shanon Buckingham, Dan Schlieper, Chris Madden, Donnie Moran, Tyler Ivey, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Dillon Wood, Scott James, Shane Riner, Randle Chupp, Carlton Jackson, Billy Drake, Randy Weaver, Freddy Smith, Wayne Chinn, Dean Bowen, Terry Casey


Race Statistics


Entries: 32

Caution Flags: 2

Lap Leaders: Bloomquist 1-49, Pearson 50

Series Provisionals: Billy Drake, Freddy Smith

PBM/Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race:  Bart Hartman (Started 17th and finished 5th-advanced 12 positions)

Allstar Performance Performer of the Race: Steve Casebolt

K&N Filters Clean Pass of the Race: Earl Pearson Jr.

Quarter Master Rookie of the Race:  Wayne Chinn

ASI Racewear Lucky 7 Award:  Ivedent Lloyd Jr.

Integra Crew Chief of the Race:  Randall Edwards (Earl Pearson Jr.)

Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race:  Larry Wallace Racing Engines

Time of the Race:  35 minutes


Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings


1)        Terry Casey (New London, WI) 1070

2)        Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) 1005

3)        Steve Casebolt (Richmond, IN) 980

4)        Justin Rattliff (Campbellsville, KY) 940

5)        Bart Hartman (Zanesville, OH) 930

6)        Scott James (Lawrenceburg, IN) 870

6)        Donnie Moran (Dresden, OH) 870

8)        Dan Schlieper (Sullivan, WI) 825

9)        Billy Drake (Bloomington, IL) 715

10)      Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) 695


Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Points Standings

1)        Terry Casey (New London, WI) 1070

2)        Wayne Chinn (Bradford, OH) 690

3)        John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) 140

4)        Eric Jacobsen (Seacliffe Beach, CA) 75

5)        Tony Knowles (Tyrone, GA) 75

2021 Championship Points

Points as of 3/21/2021
Pos Competitor Points
1stHudson O'Neal (#71)1390
2ndDevin Moran (#9)1345
3rdTim McCreadie (#39)1330
4thKyle Bronson (#40B)1270
5thBrandon Sheppard (#1s)1265
6thJosh Richards (#14)1230
7thMike Marlar (#157)1230
8thRicky Thornton (#20RT)1220
9thTyler Erb (#1T)1200
10thShane Clanton (#25)1195

Live Timing