CORONA, CA (March 1, 2007) - In 2006 Dan Schlieper of Sullivan, WI won the opening night of the East Bay Winternationals for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, after the Monday night victory, Schlieper was unable to advance into another A-Main event the remainder of the week. All that changed in 2007 as "The Wisconsin Wildman" came loaded for bear at this year's DART Machinery Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park.  Even though he didn't win an A-Main event in this year's competition he was one of only four drivers who made all six races during the week at East Bay in 2007 and with an average finish of 7thplace each of the six nights, Schlieper gained enough points to capture the 31st Annual DART Machinery Winternationals Points Title by 35 points over Benton, KY's Terry English.  Schlieper received $5,000 out of the over $30,000 in cash.

For the second year in a row at East Bay Raceway in Tampa, FL the DART Machinery Winternationals Points Fund was a combined effort of DART Machinery, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and several manufacturers and companies that support dirt late model racing.  Matt Miller of Waterville, OH, Steve Francis of Ashland, KY and Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN rounded out the top five drivers in the final standings.  The top 20 in points received their cash and product contingencies after the final night of racing at East Bay Raceway for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on Saturday, February 10th.

The 35 year old Schlieper has a resume that includes a win in the World 100 Eldora (OH) Speedway in 2003, a $50,000 triumph in the North/South 100 in 2003 at Florence (KY) Speedway and twice he has captured the Spring 50 at Florence in 2000 and 2005.  Schlieper drives a C.J. Rayburn Ford Fusion powered by a Bill and John Schlieper Pro Power Ford Engine.  Sponsors of the familiar #S9 include; Miller Brothers Coal, Hawkeye Trucking, Uncle Buck, Five Star Race Car Bodies, Allstar Performance, VP Racing Fuels, Integra Racing Shocks, Weld Racing and Out-Pace Racing Products.  Schlieper was strong throughout the week at East Bay with finishes of 2nd, two 3rds, a 6th, 10th and 18th in the six events.

Completing the top ten in the final '07 DART Machinery Winternationals at East Bay were Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, Donnie Moran of Dresden, OH, Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, WI, Josh Richards of Shinnston, WV and Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, WV.

It was another successful week for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series at East Bay for the 31st edition of the Winternationals.  A total of 107 different drivers participated in at least one event during the six day run as there were six different winners in the six consecutive nights of racing.  Along with Schlieper, drivers who made all six A-Mains included Donnie Moran, Tim Dohm and Terry Casey.  Drivers who scored their first ever wins at East Bay during the week included two-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Earl Pearson, Jr., Tim Dohm and Shannon Babb.  Rick Aukland's win on Monday Night was his first at East Bay in 12 years, Steve Shaver's win his first in two years at the 1/3 mile track and Scott Bloomquist's victory in the Saturday finale ended a drought where he had not won at East Bay in 17 years.  Also of note is that Aukland and Dohm's wins were their first ever with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Something new for the year's East Bay Winternationals was that the winner of the traditional Strawberry Dash earned a starting spot in the A-main that night.  Thanks to (PRC) Performance Rod and Custom sponsorship of the Strawberry Dash, Davey Johnson, Rick Eckert, Matt Miller, Doug Horton, Eddie Carrier, Jr. and Brad Neat earned a starting spot in the A-Mainduring the week by winning a Strawberry Dash.

Also Saturday Night's finale was taped by the cameras of SPEED Channel.  The event was the start of a new three-year agreement with SPEED to broadcast on a tape delayed basis nearly 40 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series events through 2009.  The East Bay Winternationals finale will be shown on a date and time to be announced in the future.

Manufacturers and companies associated with the 31st Annual East Bay Winternationals Points Fund included:  DART Heads, DART Blocks, Lucas Oil, K&N Filters, Hoosier Tire, Arizona Sport Shirts, LifeLong Locks, Edelbrock, AFCO, Hyperco, Mason Racin', Hawk Brake, Quarter Master, PBM Performance Products/Erson Cams, Sunoco Race Fuels, Penske Shocks, Port City Racing/Integra Shocks, COMP Cams, Ohlins, Allstar Performance, Performance Bodies, Tex Racing, American Racer Tires, Banshee Graphics, WD Enterprises, MasterSbilt Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, C J. Rayburn Race Cars, GRT Race Cars, Bloomquist Race Cars, Carl Grover Engines, Cornett Engines, Jay Dickens Racing Engines, Larry Wallace Racing Engines, Malcuit Engines, Pro Power Engines and Vic Hill Racing Engines.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be idle until Saturday, March 31st when the 11th Annual "Indiana Icebreaker" will be held at the Brownstown Speedway in Brownstown, IN.  Earl Pearson, Jr. is the defending race winner.  The event will pay $10,000 to win.

For more information on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series you can visit them online at or by calling the Series Office at (951) 532-2503

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

The Constant Contact Signup Majix Pro Module did not load due to an error.

2019 Championship Points

lmd dlUpdated: 10/22/19 - FINAL After Portsmouth

1 49 Jonathan Davenport 8170
2 39 Tim McCreadie 7700
3 14 Josh Richards 7660
4 1t Tyler Erb ® 7590
5 20 Jimmy Owens 7540
6 1m Devin Moran ® 7305
7 71 Hudson O'Neal 7235
8 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. 7160
9 40b Kyle Bronson 6525
10 50 Shanon Buckingham ...