CORONA, CA (November 6, 2007)- Officials of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series have released their 2008 racing schedule that currently shows 41 confirmed dates in 16 states.

It will be the most ambitious schedule for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series which will begin its fourth season of sanctioning dirt late model events.  In 2007 the series ran 33 events with 18 different winners as 632 drivers made at least one appearance with the series this year.

The 2008 season will kick off as usual with six nights of competition at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL for the 32nd Annual East Bay Winternationals.  With nearly $470,000 in first place prize money alone up for grabs next season the series will also return to the SPEED Channel with 12 events to be televised and the year in review special will air on SPEED as well.

The series will visit six new venues in ’08 including Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, GA, Bedford Speedway in Bedford, PA, Hilltop Speedway in Millersburg, OH, Winchester Speedway in Winchester, VA, the Batesville Speedway in Batesville, AR which will see the track’s biggest event the “Topless 100” sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the first time in August of 2008 and to Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, IN who has a late August date next year.

Returning to the series schedule after a couple of years will be Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, GA, K-C Raceway in Chillicothe, OH and Cherokee Super Speedway in Gaffney, SC.

There are six events on the 2008 schedule that will pay more than $10,000 to win next season including the $12,000 to win “Winternationals” finale at East Bay, the Second Annual “Diamond Nationals” at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO will pay $40,000 to win next May, the $47,000 to win “Topless 100” at Batesville, AR on August 15th and 16th, the $40,000 to win “Hillbilly Hundred” Labor Day Weekend, the 29th Annual “Jackson 100 at Brownstown (IN) Speedway which has been moved to September 19th and 20th and will pay $20,000 to win next year and the “Dixie Shootout” at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock GA which will pay $15,000 to win next October.

A majority of the tracks that hosted events in 2007 will be on the slate again for ’08.  “We are very pleased with the way the schedule has turned out for next season,” said series director Ritchie Lewis.  “It just shows the strength of the series that the tracks were calling us immediately after our season was over to make sure they got a date for next year,” said Lewis.  “I feel we have the best staff in all of racing and I can’t thank the drivers, car owners, fans, promoters and sponsors enough for making the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series such a popular racing series and we look forward to a tremendous 2008 season.”

“It’s really been nice to get the schedule done so soon,” commented Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Events Coordinator Rick Schwallie, who also played a hand in putting the schedule together.  “With the interest the series has drawn we are becoming a series that a lot of drivers are taking a hard look at running next season and with the other bonuses that will be announced in the future it is even more enticing,” said Schwallie.

“We want the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series to be a profitable event for our promoters who are bringing us in,” said Lucas Oil Vice President Bob Patison.  “With the way the schedule for next season has turned out it is apparent the promoters were happy with the product we put on the race track and the way the show was ran and with that said we are always looking at even more ways to entertain the fans and bring them the most bang for their buck.”

For the latest information and news regarding the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series you can visit their website at or call the series office at (951) 532-2503.

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 7/25/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1stJimmy Owens (#20)5250
2ndJonathan Davenport (#49)4950
3rdJosh Richards (#14)4810
4thTyler Erb (#1T)4785
5thTim McCreadie (#39)4730
6thKyle Bronson (#40B)4590
7thDevin Moran (#9)4550
8thShane Clanton (#25)4510
9thBilly Moyer (#21)4335
10thTanner English (#81E)4240

Live Timing