Mineral Wells, WV (September 25, 2005)-Earl Pearson, Jr. of Jacksonville, FL roared to his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Sunday Night at the West Virginia Motor Speedway as the 33 year old racer captured the $10,000 to win "Legends of the Fall 50" leading all 50 laps in dominating fashion.  Pearson driving the Carlton and Kemp Lamm owned, Lucas Oil Products, Dunn-Benson Ford, Sunoco Fuels, K&N Engineering, All Star Performance, Larry Wallace Racing Engines, MasterSbilt Ford Taurus now closes to within 25 points of series points leader, Don O'Neal heading to Dixie Speedway on October 7 and 8.  Darren Miller of Chadwick, IL finished second in the Ideal Ready Mix/Pro Power Engines/Rocket Ford Taurus and Don O'Neal of Martinsville, IN came home third in the A1 Auto Salvage/Jay Dickens Racing Engines/MasterSbilt Monte Carlo.  Completing the top five was Jackie Boggs of Grayson, KY in the Miller Brothers Coal/Cropper Racing Engines/Swartz Monte Carlo and Bart Hartman of Zanesville, OH in the Urgent Cash/Cornett Engines/Rocket Grand Prix.  A total of 54 cars were on hand for the second night of racing during the weekend at West Virginia Motor Speedway. 

Pearson was one of the six VP Fuels heat race winners and drew the coveted number two starting spot for the main event.  Darren Miller would draw the pole and those two would lead the 24 car starting field to the green flag, but three times the race had to be restarted due to incidents with the last one seeing one of the top contenders, Scott Bloomquist, who started third pull to the inside of the race track and stop in turn one with mechanical issues sidelining him for the rest of the race without a lap being scored.  When the race finally picked up the pace Pearson would take the lead with Miller going to second followed by Don O’Neal, Jackie Boggs and Mike Balzano.  By the 11th circuit scored Pearson had already picked up the back of the field which would allow Miller and the rest of the top five to close somewhat on Pearson.  In traffic O'Neal would make a move on Miller passing him on lap 16 to take second so that meant the top two in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series would occupy the top two spots at this time.  As the cars would complete the halfway mark lap with 25 laps scored it was Pearson still showing the way in a strong performance up to that point followed by O'Neal, Miller, Boggs and Balzano.  On lap 26 Rick Aukland would slow on the 5/8ths mile track bringing out the caution flag.   

When the race restarted Miller would dive to the inside of turn one and coming off the corner he would pass O'Neal and go back into second place on the 28th circuit.  Miller tried to run down Pearson at this juncture of the race, but Pearson was already extending his lead out by lap 30.  The final caution of the race would fly on lap 33 when fifth place runner, Mike Balzano and sixth place driver, Davey Johnson would both stop in turn four with the result being both drivers would exit the event.  On the final restart of the race with 17 laps to go Pearson would immediately flex his muscle building a lap that would be insurmountable dominating the final 17 laps to pick up his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the '05 season.  In doing so Pearson now sits just 25 points behind Don O'Neal in the battle for the series championship.  Miller, who finished second the World 100 this year would run a solid second place and in doing so gained enough points to move into the top ten of the series standings after the race at WVMS.  O'Neal would take third place after winning one of the most exciting heat races of the year to gain a starting spot in the main event.  Jackie Boggs would pick up fourth as he would challenge O'Neal several times in the last half of the race for third.  Hartman who was the previous night's winner was fifth. 

"This is a big win for the Lucas Oil, Dunn-Benson Ford Team," said Pearson.  "The race car was perfect from the get go today and it feels good to get another Lucas Oil Series win and we gained some valuable points on O'Neal."  "This Larry Wallace Race Engine and MasterSbilt Chassis really got around this place tonight and I want to thank Keith and Tader Masters for their help and all the fans that came out tonight as well for their support." 

Rounding out the top five was Scott James, Aaron Scott, Josh Richards, Matt Miller and Eddie Carrier, Jr. 

The next two Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series events will be at the Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA on October 7 and 8 with each night paying $10,000 to win with bonus money up for grabs. 

Race Summary

Lucas Oil Late Model Series

West Virginia Motor Speedway-Mineral Wells, WV

Sunday Night, September 25, 2005 

Fast Qualifier: Donnie Moran  22.160 seconds 

Heat #1:  Scott Bloomquist, Donnie Moran, Aaron Scott, Rick Aukland, Brian Eaton, Chris Combs, Chris Garnes, Larry Moran, Brandon Russell 

Heat #2:  Jackie Boggs, Bart Hartman, Freddy Smith, Corey Conley, Freddie Carpenter, Jared Hawkins, Greg Buckland, Jason Brookover, Jeff Gress, Greggie Oliver 

Heat #3:  Earl Pearson, Jr., Steve Shaver, Josh Richards, Matt Miller, Tim Dohm, Jimmy Owens, Greg Lucas, Keith Barbara, Tony Lombardi  

Heat #4:  Mike Balzano, Scott James, Steve Casebolt Jr., Steve Francis, Mark Banal, Eric Myers, D.J. Miller, Roy Roush, Gary Knollinger 

Heat #5:  Darren Miller, Davey Johnson, Chuck Harper, Randle Chupp, Brad Eitniear, Chuckie May, Sonny Conley, Jason Edge, Rodney Combs 

Heat #6:  Don O'Neal, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Chad Hina, Brad Malcuit, Barry Bragdon, Ben Adkins, Anthony Adams, Frank Wilson, Jr., Joe Ramey 

First B-Main:  Corey Conley, Matt Miller, Rick Aukland, Jimmy Owens, Tim Dohm, Brian Eaton, Freddie Carpenter, Greg Lucas, Chris Combs, Keith Barbara, Jared Hawkins, Chris Garnes, Greg Buckland, Jason Brookover, Brandon Russell, Larry Moran, Tony Lombardi, Jeff Gress 

Second B-Main:  Steve Francis, Mark Banal, Randle Chupp, Barry Bragdon, Brad Malcuit, Brad Eitniear, Eric Myers, Chuckie May, Anthony Adams, Sonny Conley, Ben Adkins, Rodney Combs, Frank Wilson, Jr., Gary Knollinger, Roy Roush 

"Legends of the Fall 50" Main Event:  Earl Pearson, Jr., Darren Miller, Don O'Neal, Jackie Boggs Bart Hartman, Scott James, Aaron Scott, Josh Richards, Matt Miller, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Freddy Smith, Steve Francis, Steve Casebolt, Jr., Chuck Harper, Tim Dohm, Donnie Moran, Chad Hina, Mark Banal, Mike Balzano, Davey Johnson, Corey Conley, Steve Shaver, Rick Aukland, Scott Bloomquist  

Race Statistics:

Entries:  54

Cautions:  2

Red Flags: 0

Lap Leader:  Earl Pearson, Jr. 1-50

Weld Wheels Hard Charger of the Race:  Matt Miller (started 21st and finished 9th) advanced 12 positions

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Rookie of the Race:  Scott James

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Tim Dohm and Rick Aukland

2021 Championship Points

Points as of 5/1/2021
Pos Competitor Points
1stTim McCreadie (#39)2210
2ndHudson O'Neal (#71)2165
3rdJonathan Davenport (#49)2090
4thRicky Thornton (#20RT)1995
5thShane Clanton (#25)1990
6thJosh Richards (#14)1985
7thDevin Moran (#9)1975
8thTyler Erb (#1T)1970
9thKyle Bronson (#40B)1945
10thMike Marlar (#157)1910

Live Timing