MIDDLEBOURNE, WV (July 23, 2005)-Twenty-nine year old Robbie Scott of Shinnston, WV scored the biggest of his racing career on Saturday night by winning the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned Earl Hill Memorial at Tyler County Speedway. The payday was worth $7,000 for the Tyler County Speedway regular and came aboard the Bob Scott owned Banshee Graphics/Rocket Chassis sponsored #18 Rocket Chassis, Gary Stanton Race Engines powered entry. 

Scott would take the initial lead at the start of the race, with Freddy Smith giving chase, followed by Scott James, Steve Casebolt, Jr., and Chuck Harper. Steve Shaver would work his way into the top five with a pass of Harper in the early going, while Scott motored away from the field after a lap 3 caution that would see Donnie Moran, Matt Miller, and Paul Wilmoth tangle, with all three going pitside for repairs, with Moran and Miller returning to action. 

This event would see second place not be the place to be as Freddy Smith would have a flat tire while running second on lap 7 and draw the caution flag and pit for fresh rubber.  Scott James would then assume the runner-up slot behind Scott and would pass Robbie Scott for the race lead on lap 17, only to have the pass voided for a stalled Steve Casebolt, Jr. in turn four. Back under green, Scott would have James all over him again, only to see the night go sour for James when a busted oil cooler ended his night one lap after the restart. This would put Tim Dohm into the runner-up slot as this point, while Steve Shaver would go third, with 16th starting and defending Earl Hill Memorial winner Mike Benedum now fourth and Earl Pearson, Jr. fifth.   

Scott and Dohm race for lead for several laps, as Don O’Neal would bring the heat to Pearson, Jr. for the fifth spot with 15 circuits remaining.  Dohm’s run in the second spot would also end around lap 30 when he pulled his mount to the infield with a blown engine.  A final caution flag appeared on lap 38, bunching the bunch back together one final time to give everyone one last shot at the top spot.  Benedum would deal Shaver a slider to take the runner-up slot, with Keith Barbara driving by O’Neal and Harper to break into the top five.

Scott would drive away over the final dozen laps to score the win with defending event winner Benedum finishing second in the Hayhurst Equipment/Benedum and Sons, Inc. Right of Way Cleaning#25 Rocket Chassis, Butch Hixson Race Engines powered entry.  Shaver would finish third in the Bill Bland Motorsports owned Richard Construction/Bland’s Towing #0 Rocket Chassis, Draime Race Engines mount.  Pearson, Jr. would finish fourth in the Lucas Oil Products/Dunn Benson Ford #1 MasterSbilt Race Cars, Larry Wallace Race Engine powered, Carlton Lamb owned entry. Barbara’s Triangle Benefit Services/S and S Auto Repair #17 Rocket Chassis, Rhodes Performance Engines unit would complete the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be Chuck Harper, Don O’Neal, Matt Miller, Freddy Smith, and Bobby Hill.

Thirty-six entries signed in for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event, with Rob Blair establishing a new track record during time trials with a 12.430 second lap. heat wins went to Smith, Scott, Casebolt, Jr., and James. The 1st B-Main was won by Blair, with Matt Miller winning the 2nd B-Main.  Series provisional starting spots were taken by Rick Aukland and Corey Conley, with track provisionals going to Bobby Hill and Greg Baumberger. 

Race Summary Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Saturday July 23, 2005 Tyler County Speedway – Middlebourne, WV 

Fast Time- Rob Blair - 12.430 (New Track Record)

Heat #1- Freddy Smith, Chuck Harper, Earl Pearson, Jr., Donnie Moran, Rob Blair, Steve Wilmoth, Sonny Conley, Steve Lucas, Mitch Gillian

Heat #2- Robbie Scott, Steve Shaver, Tim Dohm, Mark Banal, Steve Weigle, Rick Aukland, M.T. Hall, Gary Knollinger, Doug Eaton

Heat #3- Steve Casebolt, Jr., Don O’Neal, Mike Balzano, Keith Barbara, Jared Hawkins, Matt Miller, Mike Eaton, D.J. Pellen, Nick Corbitt

Heat #4- Scott James, Tim Hitt, Paul Wilmoth, Mike Benedum, Charlie Maloney, Bobby Hill, Corey Conley, Greg Baumberger, Dave Gorrell

B-Main #1- Rob Blair, Steve Weigle, Rick Aukland, Steve Lucas, M.T. Hall, Mitch Gillian, Gary Knollinger, Sonny Conley, Doug Eaton, Steve Wilmoth

B-Main #2- Matt Miller, Jared Hawkins, Greg Baumberger, Bobby Hill, Dave Gorrell, Mike Eaton, D.J. Pellen, Charlie Maloney, Corey Conley, Nick Corbitt

Lucas Oil A-Main Earl Hill Memorial- Robbie Scott, Mike Benedum, Steve Shaver, Earl Pearson, Jr., Keith Barbara, Chuck Harper, Don O’Neal, Matt Miller, Freddy Smith, Bobby Hill, Steve Weigle, Greg Baumberger, Mike Balzano, Donnie Moran, Tim Dohm, Scott James, Tim Hitt, Steve Casebolt, Jr., Corey Conley, Rick Aukland, Mark Banal, Robbie Blair, Jared Hawkins, Paul Wilmoth  

Race Statistics Total Entries- 36 Race Leaders- 1 (Scott; Lap 1-50) Cautions- 6 Red Flags- None Weld Racing Hard Charger- Mike Benedum (16th to 2nd-advanced 14 positions) Lucas Oil Rookie of the Race- Tim Dohm Series Lucas Oil Late Model Series Provisionals- Rick Aukland, Corey Conley Track Provisionals- Bobby Hill, Greg Baumberger

2020 Championship Points

Points as of 10/17/2020
Pos Competitor Points
1stJimmy Owens (#20)7940
2ndTim McCreadie (#39)7560
3rdJonathan Davenport (#49)7375
4thJosh Richards (#14)7295
5thTyler Erb (#1T)7110
6thShane Clanton (#25)6780
7thDevin Moran (#9)6690
8thKyle Bronson (#40B)6690
9thTanner English (#81E)6455
10thEarl Pearson (#1)6390

Live Timing