2012results_2-13.jpg   TAMPA, FL (February 13, 2012) – Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN took the lead on the ninth lap from Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN as he went on to score the opening night victory in the 36th Annual DART Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park. O’Neal’s win was the 13th in his career at East Bay as he scored the win on Monday Night over Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, IL. Marlar finished third followed by Eric Jacobsen of Seacliffe Beach, CA and Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN.   Marlar set a rapid pace at the start of the race, leading the first eight circuits until he slipped slightly in turn two. O’Neal took advantage and passed him for the top spot and never relinquished. “Those first 11 laps went by so fast I thought the race was about over,” said O’Neal in victory lane. “He (Marlar) got high a little bit there in two and I went under him, this is a brand new MasterSbilt car, and the Jay Dickens engine ran really well.”   O’Neal led the rest of the way, holding enough distance to hold off Babb for the win. The last caution of the race came out with four laps to go, setting up a late race dash to the finish between O’Neal and Babb. O’Neal was up to the task as he beat Babb to the line by three car lengths to score the 20th LOLMDS win of his career, worth $5,000.   “I can’t thank Tader Masters and Cody Mahoney enough; we’ve added some new sponsors this year Optima Batteries, Seubert Calf Ranches, and Tarpy Trucking to go along with Independence Lumber, Jones Core, and Superior Cleaning.   The track was excellent tonight it was fast and you could race anywhere on it. Once I got past Marlar and I knew it would be tough for someone to get back around me,” said the 47-year-old driver afterwards.   Babb, in the Petroff Towing, Pro Power Engines, Moyer Victory Circle Chevrolet finished just ahead of Marlar in the Bryson Motorsports and Clements Racing Engines ride; Jacobsen in the Design 500, Phantom Race Engines, Bloomquist Race Cars entry; and Scott Bloomquist completed the top five in his Hawkeye Trucking, Roush-Yates Racing Engines, Bloomquist Race Cars Ford.   Completing the top ten were Terry Casey of New London, WI; Randy Korte of Highland, IL; Dan Stone of Thompson, PA; Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, IL; and Eric Wells of Hazard, KY.   In preliminary action Marlar was the Red Buck Cigar Fast Qualifier among the 41 entrants with a lap of 14,419 seconds. Heat race winners were Shannon Babb, Don O’Neal, Mike Marlar, and Scott Bloomquist. The B-Mains were won by Scott Creel and Ray Cook.   The second night of the 36th Annual DART Winternationals will take place on Tuesday Night, February 14th with a $5,000 to win main event. Action will get underway with hot laps at 6 PM followed by Red Buck Cigar Time Trials. Heat race will action will start at approximately 7 PM. For more information logon to www.eastbayracewaypark.com.   For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com or call the series’ office at (951) 532-2503.   Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary Saturday Night, February 13, 2012 36th Annual DART Winternationals East Bay Raceway Park – Tampa, FL   Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:  Shannon Babb / 14.509 seconds (Group A) Mike Marlar / 14.419 seconds (Group B and Overall)   Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (8 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Shannon Babb, Eric Jacobsen, Randy Korte, Dillan White, Scott Creel, Jason Riggs, Jackie Nosbisch, Dennis Erb Jr., Victor Lee, James O’Hara, Leon Henderson-DNS   U. S. Steel Second Heat (8 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Don O’Neal, Duke Whiseant, Terry Casey, Daniel Stone, Morgan Bagley, Chris Brown, Shane Cottle, Mark Andersen, Doug Blashe, Scott James-DNS   Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (8 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Mike Marlar, Bobby Pierce, Josh McGuire, Donnie Moran, Ray Cook, Eric Wells, Chad Hollenbeck, Travis Varnadore, Robert Geiger, Scott Phillips   HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (8 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Bloomquist, Tyler Reddick, Steve Francis, Justin Rattliff, John Blankenship, Shelby Miles, Todd Frank, Danny Mitchell, Chad Stapleton, Terry Naugle   JRi Shocks First B-Main (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Scott Creel, Dennis Erb Jr., Morgan Bagley, Chris Brown, Jason Riggs, Shane Cottle, Victor Lee, Doug Blashe, James O’Hara, Mark Andersen, Jackie Nosbisch, Leon Henderson-DNS, Scott James-DNS   PAC Racing Springs Second B-Main (10 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Ray Cook, John Blankenship, Eric Wells, Shelby Miles, Todd Frank, Danny Mitchell, Terry Naugle, Robert Geiger, Chad Hollenbeck, Travis Varnadore, Chad Stapleton, Scott Phillips   PRC Strawberry Dash Presented by DirtonDirt.com (Laps- Winner Advances): Danny Mitchell, Chad Hollenbeck, Shane Cottle, Jason Riggs, Mark Andersen, Todd Frank   Feature Finish – 25 Laps:

1 3 71 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
2 1 18 Shannon Babb Mowequa, IL
3 2 5b Mike Marlar Winfield, TN
4 5 5 Eric Jacobsen Watsonville, CA
5 4 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
6 11 42 Terry Casey New London, WI
7 9 81x Randy Korte Highland, IL
8 15 21d Daniel Stone Thompson, PA
9 19 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
10 22 18e Eric Wells Hazard, KY
11 17 31 Scott Creel Franklinton, LA
12 18 53 Ray Cook Brasstown, NC
13 12 15 Steve Francis Ashland, KY
14 8 11T Tyler Reddick Corning, CA
15 20 23 John Blankenship Williamson, WV
16 14 99 Donnie Moran Dresden, OH
17 6 32 Bobby Pierce Oakwood, IL
18 21 14m Morgan Bagley Tyler, TX
19 24 76 Shelby Miles Bloomington, IN
20 7 A1 Duke Whiseant Texarkana, AR
21 10 41 Josh McGuire Grayson, KY
22 13 54W Dillan White Crofton, KY
23 16 16 Justin Rattliff Campbellsville, KY
24 23 21CB Chris Brown Spring, TX
25 25 51 Travis Varnadore Dover, FL
26 26 18d Danny Mitchell W. Milford, WV

  Race Statistics Entrants: 41 Lap Leaders: Mike Marlar (Laps 1 – 8); Don O’Neal (Laps 9 – 25) Caution Flags: Dillan White (Lap 11); Josh McGuire (Lap 12); Duke Whiseant (Lap 21) Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a DirtonDirt.com Fast Time Provisional: Travis Varnadore Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisional: n/a Performance Bodies First Non-Qualifier: Chad Hollenbeck Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Eric Wells (Started 22nd; Finished 10th; Advanced 12 positions) Allstar Performer of the Race: Eric Jacobsen Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Donnie Moran ASi Racewear Challenge Finisher: Don O’Neal Quarter Master Rookie of the Race: n/a COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Jay Dickens Racing Engines Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: MasterSbilt Race Cars Sweet Mfg Crew Chief of the Race: Cody Mahoney Time of Race: 22 minutes 14 seconds   DART Winternationals Point Standings:

1 71 Don O'Neal 250
2 18 Shannon Babb 240
3 5b Mike Marlar 230
4 5 Eric Jacobsen 210
5 0 Scott Bloomquist 205
6 42 Terry Casey 200
7 81x Randy Korte 195
8 21d Daniel Stone 190
9 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. 185
10 18e Eric Wells 180
11 31 Scott Creel 175
12 53 Ray Cook 170
13 15 Steve Francis 165
14 11T Tyler Reddick 160
15 23 John Blankenship 155
16 99 Donnie Moran 150
17 32 Bobby Pierce 145
18 14m Morgan Bagley 140
19 76 Shelby Miles 135
20 A1 Duke Whiseant 130
21 41 Josh McGuire 125
21 54W Dillan White 125
21 16 Justin Rattliff 125
21 21CB Chris Brown 125
21 51 Travis Varnadore 125
21 18d Danny Mitchell 125
27 21F Todd Frank 120
27 81JR Jason Riggs 120
29 71n Terry Naugle 115
29 11c Shane Cottle 115
31 38 Robert Geiger 110
31 4L Victor Lee 110
33 4-Ds Chad Hollenbeck 105
33 1 Doug Blashe 105
35 32s Chad Stapleton 100
35 44J James O'Hara 100
37 50 Scott Phillips 95
37 85 Mark Andersen 95
39 01 Jackie Nosbisch 90
40 10 Leon Henderson 50
40 81 Scott James 50

Live Timing

Newsletter Sign-up

* Required